logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
jlm  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2024 4:01:59 AM(UTC)
jlm

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,250
Man
France
Location: Paris & Frankfurt

Thanks: 214 times
Was thanked: 159 time(s) in 100 post(s)
Hi Forum members,

Am I the only one to see that ?

Just a simple case to show the fragility of the history tree :
- copy and paste a few solids to a new layer
- modify one of the solids : fillets
- boolean add or subtract all the solids
- remove the fillets features
—> History gets broken

JL
File Attachment(s):
Bug history.sfx (65kb) downloaded 8 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
thanks 3 users thanked jlm for this useful post.
GARLIC on 6/11/2024(UTC), damhave on 6/11/2024(UTC), MPSchmied on 6/12/2024(UTC)
cad'n'stuff  
#2 Posted : Friday, June 14, 2024 12:01:53 PM(UTC)
cad'n'stuff

Rank: Guest

Joined: 8/10/2017(UTC)
Posts: 47
Man

Was thanked: 47 time(s) in 23 post(s)
Yes, the history tree isn't the most stable thing. The best things to do are avoiding booleans (if possible) and save incrementally. (You might wanna look at a blog post I made a few years ago: https://cadnstuff.net/boolean-tools-in-viacad/)

Unfortunately there hasn't been much improvement in that regard in the last few years. All you can do is getting used to it or switch to another CAD software.

In my opinion, a buggy history tree is still better than no history tree at all.
thanks 2 users thanked cad'n'stuff for this useful post.
jlm on 6/14/2024(UTC), Keith2019 on 6/14/2024(UTC)
damhave  
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2024 9:40:22 AM(UTC)
damhave

Rank: Guest

Joined: 9/14/2020(UTC)
Posts: 64
Man
Denmark

Thanks: 152 times
Was thanked: 37 time(s) in 23 post(s)
BTW How stable is the history tree in other CAD programs?

BR
Danny
BR
Danny

Windows 10 Pro,
SharkCAD v14 Pro (1653),
XPS 15,9980HK
Sonoma 14.3,
SharkCAD v14 Pro (1653),
MacBook Pro 14 2023,M3
cad'n'stuff  
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2024 2:51:48 PM(UTC)
cad'n'stuff

Rank: Guest

Joined: 8/10/2017(UTC)
Posts: 47
Man

Was thanked: 47 time(s) in 23 post(s)
Originally Posted by: damhave Go to Quoted Post
BTW How stable is the history tree in other CAD programs?

BR
Danny


Definitely way more stable. But even in CAD software like Solidworks or Inventor you'll be able to break your feature tree (or at leat parts of it), if you have a messy workflow.
BTW, If you google for "resilient cad modeling" you'll find a lot of information and tutorials on how to bullet-proof your cad history.
thanks 4 users thanked cad'n'stuff for this useful post.
GARLIC on 6/20/2024(UTC), damhave on 6/21/2024(UTC), jlm on 6/22/2024(UTC), Keith2019 on 7/12/2024(UTC)
jlm  
#5 Posted : Friday, July 12, 2024 3:39:40 AM(UTC)
jlm

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,250
Man
France
Location: Paris & Frankfurt

Thanks: 214 times
Was thanked: 159 time(s) in 100 post(s)
Originally Posted by: jlm Go to Quoted Post


Just a simple case to show the fragility of the history tree :
- copy and paste a few solids to a new layer
- modify one of the solids : fillets
- boolean add or subtract all the solids
- remove the fillets features
—> History gets broken

JL


I just tried beta 1710.

My best chainsaw couldn't put the history tree down.

PROBLEM SOLVED !

Thanks Tim !
thanks 1 user thanked jlm for this useful post.
Keith2019 on 7/12/2024(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.