logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
creativecad  
#1 Posted : Friday, December 8, 2023 9:27:25 PM(UTC)
creativecad

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 1/1/2017(UTC)
Posts: 148
Man
United States

Thanks: 70 times
Was thanked: 74 time(s) in 42 post(s)
An example would be if you drew a square steel tubing that is square cut at one end, but draw this in 2d using lines and hidden lines. Then you want to make the square cut end mate up to an object or line that is 45 degrees. Use this new 2d tool to extend (or trim) the square tubing to the 45 degrees line.

An even better idea would be to trim or extend multiple 2d square tubings to a trim line at once.

My hope is that each of the tubings trimmed would each have a line capping the end of each tube.

Kind of like match face but 2d instead of 3d.

This would help me drawing the pickets in sloped handrails and pickets in arched topped gates.
ViaCad 10 Pro
ViaCad 9
Windows 10
thanks 1 user thanked creativecad for this useful post.
MPSchmied on 12/10/2023(UTC)
MPSchmied  
#2 Posted : Sunday, December 10, 2023 4:55:41 PM(UTC)
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 510
Man
Germany

Thanks: 278 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 106 post(s)
I know that sometimes it takes longer and the creation of 3D models could be optimized in many places. But I prefer the construction in 3D because then you can automatically derive all views. Of course, I would prefer to trim all bars at the same time, but at least I can trim one bar at a time and don't have to trim each line of the bar individually.
OS: Windows 10 | CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 2700 | RAM: 32 GB | Graphic: AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 | Shark FX 9 Build 1162 | Unit: mm
rockyroad_us  
#3 Posted : Monday, December 11, 2023 8:53:20 AM(UTC)
rockyroad_us

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/12/2009(UTC)
Posts: 601
Man
United States
Location: In my place

Was thanked: 55 time(s) in 47 post(s)
Trying to follow yoru logic of 2D trimming to a trim line. The 2D has trimming and extend commands. You can just extend to a line using the trim command with the option button. Just make sure you select the trimmings line and then the line you want to extend while holding down the option button.

Maybe post a picture to follow.
FX 7-FXPro14-1650
MacPro 11.7.4
2x2.8GHz Quad Xeon 32GB
NVIDIA 4 K5000 4GB
Work
creativecad  
#4 Posted : Thursday, December 14, 2023 10:41:58 PM(UTC)
creativecad

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 1/1/2017(UTC)
Posts: 148
Man
United States

Thanks: 70 times
Was thanked: 74 time(s) in 42 post(s)
Originally Posted by: rockyroad_us Go to Quoted Post
Trying to follow yoru logic of 2D trimming to a trim line. The 2D has trimming and extend commands. You can just extend to a line using the trim command with the option button. Just make sure you select the trimmings line and then the line you want to extend while holding down the option button.

Maybe post a picture to follow.


creativecad attached the following image(s):
trim extend 1.png (78kb) downloaded 4 time(s).
trim extend 2.png (88kb) downloaded 2 time(s).
trim extend 3.png (86kb) downloaded 5 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ViaCad 10 Pro
ViaCad 9
Windows 10
rockyroad_us  
#5 Posted : Monday, December 18, 2023 8:41:39 AM(UTC)
rockyroad_us

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/12/2009(UTC)
Posts: 601
Man
United States
Location: In my place

Was thanked: 55 time(s) in 47 post(s)
Sounds like an interested concept. The only issue is the matching of the curve across since the cross line is horizontal. The program will need to match it and get rid of the horizontal line. You can do this in 3D however with the match face command.

The only way that I would prefer seeing this is to extend all the vertical lines and break at every intersection using the curved line. This program does not have such a function. In other programs is called break many. It segments are every intersection the program sees 2D lines.

Edited by user Tuesday, December 19, 2023 4:25:26 PM(UTC)  | Reason: grammatical error

FX 7-FXPro14-1650
MacPro 11.7.4
2x2.8GHz Quad Xeon 32GB
NVIDIA 4 K5000 4GB
Work
thanks 2 users thanked rockyroad_us for this useful post.
GARLIC on 12/18/2023(UTC), creativecad on 12/22/2023(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.