logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
epicycloid  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 21, 2023 1:18:50 PM(UTC)
epicycloid

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 5 post(s)
Maybe there is a trick buried in the docs that I haven't found yet, but is there a way to maintain the starting point of a line, when I type in a length for it?

I'm still new to ViaCAD and migrating from my prior software, so things work a little differently...

The scenario is I draw a line, and I want to draw the next line, starting at the endpoint of the first line, but enter a specific length for it.

What happens is the LogiCursor enable starting on the endpoint of the first line, and I draw out an approximate distance. But then when I type the desired length in the data entry, the line adjusts to the correct length, but jumps off the starting pojnt.

This seems very counterintuitive, and I'm guessing it must be pilot error on my part.

How can I draw a line, and maintain it's initial position, when entering a value for it?

2 images attached showing where the line starts, then entering a length of 3' and how it "jumps" off of the desired endpoint of the other line.

Thanks,

Edited by user Tuesday, November 21, 2023 1:20:55 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

epicycloid attached the following image(s):
LineJump2.jpg (27kb) downloaded 0 time(s).
LineJump1.jpg (27kb) downloaded 0 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
      --Jon

SharkCAD Pro – V14 (aka 14.1.0 = WIP 1641)
16" MacBook Pro – Apple Silicon M2 Pro – MacOS Ventura 13.4.1
Tim Olson  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 21, 2023 4:04:46 PM(UTC)
Tim Olson

United States