logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
epicycloid  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 2, 2023 3:47:12 PM(UTC)
epicycloid

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 5 post(s)
Hi -- I am relatively new to ViaCAD, finally giving up on Ashlar's products after more than 30 years. I bought a license to ViaCAD 2D/3D v14 to "dip my toes in the water" and it seems pretty stable using MacOS Ventura (13.4.1) running on a MacBook Pro / M2 Pro silicon.

My issues all seem to be related to trying to use VC with an external / second monitor connected.

I have read the old thread on External Monitor Issues, but none of the suggestions seem to be applicable on v14 running on Apple silicon.

Just some of the issues I'm seeing in my experiments and tests...

– Tools on pop-out sub-palettes can't be selected. In order to use any sub-palette tools, the entire palette has to be torn off.

– Setting / changing either the MacBook screen or the external monitor as the main display doesn't seem to alter the behavior in predictable ways to me.

– If I make the external monitor the main display, and move it above the laptop screen, the pop-out sub-palettes sort of work.

– But if I try to use that arrangement, when I quit, palettes and windows all forget their positions, even if "Save Dialog / Palette Positions" is clicked in Preferences.

Can anybody provide any guidance to make this more useable with a larger / external monitor?

Thanks,

Edited by user Wednesday, August 2, 2023 3:49:28 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

--Jon

SharkCAD Pro – V14 (aka 14.1.0 = WIP 1641)
16" MacBook Pro – Apple Silicon M2 Pro – MacOS Ventura 13.4.1
24c