logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
curtk  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2023 10:48:28 AM(UTC)
curtk

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/17/2015(UTC)
Posts: 34

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 12 post(s)
so why is viacad pro for mac $499 or $300 with upgrade , and windows is $699 with no chance of upgrade
seems like a bit of a kick in the teeth

Edited by user Tuesday, January 24, 2023 10:53:58 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user thanked curtk for this useful post.
specktech on 1/25/2023(UTC)
Tim Olson  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2023 1:20:19 PM(UTC)
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 5,222
United States

Was thanked: 349 time(s) in 273 post(s)
The price of ViaCAD Pro 14 was reduced from $699 to $499.

Windows has not been released yet, so I suspect you are seeing ViaCAD Pro 12 pricing for Windows.


Tim

Tim Olson
IMSI Design/Encore
thanks 1 user thanked Tim Olson for this useful post.
specktech on 1/26/2023(UTC)
specktech  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2023 2:16:12 PM(UTC)
specktech

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/20/2021(UTC)
Posts: 75

Thanks: 443 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 16 post(s)
I think you have a typo in your second sentence Tim. There is no Windows versions posted on the webpages. Seems so strange to me. I paid 700 dollars just over a year ago. Now the price has dropped to 500 dollars. But I will have to pay 300 dollars to upgrade. I was hoping more than anything that a fix for that mesh symmetry tool would be free. Also creating some kind of tug of war between Windows and Macs is not smart. Windows is used by way more people than Mac. I just read that the unfold tool is not working. I will wait to see the results of the users that upgrade.
Tim Olson  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2023 2:38:33 PM(UTC)
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 5,222
United States

Was thanked: 349 time(s) in 273 post(s)
>>There is no Windows versions posted on the webpages.

ViaCAD Pro 12 Windows
https://www.punchcad.com/punch-viacad-pro-v12

With the V14 price lower, I would highly suggest waiting...

>>But I will have to pay 300 dollars to upgrade.

Upgrades
Upgrade pricing I believe is 159.99.
https://www.punchcad.com...acad-pro-versions-v9-v12

>> I just read that the unfold tool is not working.

I did some more testing, and not seeing an issue yet. I will need an example file. I'm thinking user tried to unfold something other than a sheet body. The tool is designed to work with surfaces not solids or thin solids. I'm actually working on some sheet metal tools for thin solids but they are not stable yet for release. The Unfold Sheet is exposing something directly released by Spatial/Dassault.

Tim

Edited by user Wednesday, January 25, 2023 3:31:47 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Tim Olson
IMSI Design/Encore
thanks 1 user thanked Tim Olson for this useful post.
specktech on 1/26/2023(UTC)
MPSchmied  
#5 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2023 8:05:47 PM(UTC)
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 439
Man
Germany

Thanks: 189 times
Was thanked: 98 time(s) in 75 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Tim Olson Go to Quoted Post
I'm actually working on some sheet metal tools
This Surface-Unfold-Tool is old. I waiting for the tools for thin solids. The Tool should working also with solids and using just the surface of the solids. I remember me that this tool was sometimes working with primitive solids and sometimes it was not working without any reason.

Edited by user Wednesday, January 25, 2023 8:06:50 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

OS: Windows 10 | SharkFX 9 Build 1162
thanks 1 user thanked MPSchmied for this useful post.
specktech on 1/26/2023(UTC)
2murray  
#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2023 9:10:39 PM(UTC)
2murray

Rank: Member

Joined: 2/15/2022(UTC)
Posts: 21

Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Unroll hasn't worked specifically with trimmed cylindrical surfaces, for example a hole through a fillet, or a sphere passing through it, since introduction with PP in V9, not now in SharkPro 12. How 'bout V14, Mac beta people? Tim? TC's unbend does it (it didn't for about seven years after intro), but that's strictly for cylindrical fillets in solid sheets, not for general developable surfaces.
thanks 1 user thanked 2murray for this useful post.
specktech on 1/26/2023(UTC)
MPSchmied  
#7 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2023 9:22:47 PM(UTC)
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 439
Man
Germany

Thanks: 189 times
Was thanked: 98 time(s) in 75 post(s)
This unfold tool come from the power pack and it works i guess with surfaces which made with the function "offset surface". Maybe it is possible to create a offset surface near by the neutral line and have something like the k-factor. But at time i can't testing this feature.

Edited by user Wednesday, January 25, 2023 9:24:41 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

OS: Windows 10 | SharkFX 9 Build 1162
thanks 1 user thanked MPSchmied for this useful post.
specktech on 1/26/2023(UTC)
specktech  
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2023 2:17:00 AM(UTC)
specktech

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/20/2021(UTC)
Posts: 75

Thanks: 443 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 16 post(s)
That sounds way more reasonable. Thank you for the reply Tim. I have been looking really close at all the features of V14 and it does look very nice. So awesome to hear your voice in these new tutorials. Have a good one. That really made me excited to see this box cover for the upgrade. I know we have to wait but I will definitely have get that upgrade.

Edited by user Thursday, January 26, 2023 2:23:04 AM(UTC)  | Reason: corrections

curtk  
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2023 7:33:37 PM(UTC)
curtk

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/17/2015(UTC)
Posts: 34

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 12 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Tim Olson Go to Quoted Post
The price of ViaCAD Pro 14 was reduced from $699 to $499.

Windows has not been released yet, so I suspect you are seeing ViaCAD Pro 12 pricing for Windows.


Tim



ya I just looked again and that seems to be the case
Any idea of when we can expect a windows version ??
Tim Olson  
#10 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2023 8:10:41 PM(UTC)
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 5,222
United States

Was thanked: 349 time(s) in 273 post(s)
>>Any idea of when we can expect a windows version ??


I sent a first build of ViaCAD 14 Windows to QA team this week, likely several weeks away.


Tim
Tim Olson
IMSI Design/Encore
thanks 1 user thanked Tim Olson for this useful post.
ctkjose on 1/27/2023(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.