logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
CNC_Kid  
#1 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2022 2:50:25 PM(UTC)
CNC_Kid

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/14/2014(UTC)
Posts: 83

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 9 post(s)
So where is v14. I was told by Punch folks there is no v13, but v14 was coming end of summer. Summer ended, no v14?
VCpro v11-1417
Win10Pro 32GB
Xeon E3-1270-v3 3.5GHz
Asrock Extreme 9ac
Samsung SSD RAID5
nvidia GTX760
thanks 2 users thanked CNC_Kid for this useful post.
ctkjose on 10/5/2022(UTC), specktech on 10/6/2022(UTC)
MPSchmied  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2022 2:30:58 AM(UTC)
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 422
Man
Germany

Thanks: 175 times
Was thanked: 81 time(s) in 62 post(s)
ROFL
OS: Windows
jlm  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2022 10:00:04 AM(UTC)
jlm

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,167
Man
France
Location: Paris & Frankfurt

Thanks: 165 times
Was thanked: 109 time(s) in 71 post(s)
Originally Posted by: CNC_Kid Go to Quoted Post
So where is v14. I was told by Punch folks there is no v13, but v14 was coming end of summer. Summer ended, no v14?


Indian summer has not yet started :-)

V14 will come... Let's be patient.


thanks 1 user thanked jlm for this useful post.
specktech on 10/6/2022(UTC)
posh.de  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2022 10:25:29 AM(UTC)
posh.de

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/23/2007(UTC)
Posts: 469
Man
Germany

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 40 time(s) in 31 post(s)
v14 is avail. already... 8^)

... Pro version is much better this release.
POSH GmbH
www.posh.de
thanks 1 user thanked posh.de for this useful post.
specktech on 10/6/2022(UTC)
MPSchmied  
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2022 11:16:29 AM(UTC)
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 422
Man
Germany

Thanks: 175 times
Was thanked: 81 time(s) in 62 post(s)
Corona Lockdown.
A Iphone is garbage. Macs are also garbage. Use a good OS and not Mac and no IOS. Why is a iphone garbage? because it is not water proof and not shock resistant. A good waterresistant outdoor-smartphone is not so expensive and better. at time i use the cubot kinkong 5 pro, but this is a little bit to big and heavy.

With the AMD Driver 31.0.12015.1008 from 2022/07 works Shark 9 better. No longer so much crashes and no crashes caused by open gl anymore.

Edited by user Tuesday, September 27, 2022 11:19:57 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

OS: Windows
thanks 1 user thanked MPSchmied for this useful post.
specktech on 10/17/2022(UTC)
specktech  
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 6, 2022 9:47:03 AM(UTC)
specktech

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/20/2021(UTC)
Posts: 44

Thanks: 316 times
Was thanked: 12 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Originally Posted by: posh.de Go to Quoted Post
v14 is avail. already... 8^)

... Pro version is much better this release.


Is Version 14 out there? So curious. Where is it located?
MPSchmied  
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 6, 2022 3:29:38 PM(UTC)
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 422
Man
Germany

Thanks: 175 times
Was thanked: 81 time(s) in 62 post(s)
Originally Posted by: specktech Go to Quoted Post
Is Version 14 out there? So curious. Where is it located?

Go with your mouse over his text. He have a link in the text to the i-phone. He is a part of the development, he can do such things :)
Links are not highlighted automatically in this forum - only when the mouse is over it.

Edited by user Thursday, October 6, 2022 3:31:36 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

OS: Windows
thanks 2 users thanked MPSchmied for this useful post.
specktech on 10/6/2022(UTC), magicart on 10/7/2022(UTC)
specktech  
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 6, 2022 9:12:17 PM(UTC)
specktech

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/20/2021(UTC)
Posts: 44

Thanks: 316 times
Was thanked: 12 time(s) in 11 post(s)
I was hoping to see a version 14 of ViaCAD. As that was the topic of cnc kids question. I checked Posh's link and it was for version 14 of an iphone. Sure hope to see an update for ViaCad someday. I really would like to see the mesh symmetry function fixed. I also wish they could tweak the code so that if you make an incorrect selection it would not lock up so bad. The program needs a better way recover from an error. Sometimes it just locks up like its lost in space. I will wait for it to recover sometimes.If I have auto save on or have been saving. I usually just start over. But overall ViaCAD is my favorite program. Moi3d is also my goto program, Going to buy Rhino. Been trying Rhino 5 with no save, It is so cool. I also really enjoy Alibre atom and Blender. But every thing I create for my 3d printer gets completed with ViaCAD pro v12. Have a good one.
L. Banasky  
#9 Posted : Saturday, October 8, 2022 11:56:14 AM(UTC)
L. Banasky

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/16/2007(UTC)
Posts: 570

Thanks: 130 times
Was thanked: 127 time(s) in 89 post(s)
I was also looking for Version 14 Upgrade from Version 12,
all I could find was one from 1997.
File Attachment(s):
Ver 14.jpg (549kb) downloaded 21 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
thanks 3 users thanked L. Banasky for this useful post.
damhave on 10/8/2022(UTC), magicart on 10/8/2022(UTC), specktech on 10/17/2022(UTC)
posh.de  
#10 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2022 10:58:59 AM(UTC)
posh.de

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/23/2007(UTC)
Posts: 469
Man
Germany

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 40 time(s) in 31 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MPSchmied Go to Quoted Post
He is a part of the development, he can do such things...


we are not part neither of Encore/IMSI nor the development team. Links can be posted by everybody, the link tag can be found in the editor menu (earth w/ chain symbol).

Edited by user Monday, October 10, 2022 11:00:03 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

POSH GmbH
www.posh.de
MPSchmied  
#11 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2022 9:59:22 AM(UTC)
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 422
Man
Germany

Thanks: 175 times
Was thanked: 81 time(s) in 62 post(s)
Originally Posted by: posh.de Go to Quoted Post
we are not part neither of Encore/IMSI nor the development team
Sorry, this was a bad conspiracy theory. I guess long time ago started some cad program with a drafting assistant :). And posh make or made the translation in german language. This is a part of development. What made the japanese Team? Is there a chinese Team?

Sorry, but a iphone have nothing to do with CAD and this is the same like the spambots do. :) A Iphone have a very good camera. I watched today some images which made without light in a darker twilight, and was scared how good they are. :) But anyway i use my cheap chinese Prügel.
OS: Windows
thanks 1 user thanked MPSchmied for this useful post.
specktech on 10/17/2022(UTC)
posh.de  
#12 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2022 10:35:42 AM(UTC)
posh.de

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/23/2007(UTC)
Posts: 469
Man
Germany

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 40 time(s) in 31 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MPSchmied Go to Quoted Post
I guess long time ago started some cad program with a drafting assistant :). And posh make or made the translation in german language. This is a part of development.


localization is no software development, but we actually developed formerly parts of this other software as e.g. the BoM or kinematics or the symbol manager or the tolerances of shape and position or the dimension editor etc. actually w/ a developer partly located at the 'square stone block' headquarter... but never participated developement of Vellum Solids and successors.
POSH GmbH
www.posh.de
creativecad  
#13 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2022 3:43:06 PM(UTC)
creativecad

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/1/2017(UTC)
Posts: 84
Man
United States

Thanks: 33 times
Was thanked: 29 time(s) in 16 post(s)
Has anybody received any upgrades to V12?
ViaCad 10 Pro
ViaCad 9
Windows 10
thanks 1 user thanked creativecad for this useful post.
specktech on 10/17/2022(UTC)
Tim Olson  
#14 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2022 8:22:39 PM(UTC)
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 5,137
United States

Was thanked: 294 time(s) in 237 post(s)
>>Has anybody received any upgrades to V12?

No.

We just beginning to alpha test with a limited group in the Beta forum. As we get further along and the build becomes more stable we will open it up to a larger group of users.

Tim


Tim Olson
IMSI Design/Encore
thanks 7 users thanked Tim Olson for this useful post.
L. Banasky on 10/12/2022(UTC), creativecad on 10/12/2022(UTC), damhave on 10/13/2022(UTC), Elektroniker on 10/14/2022(UTC), specktech on 10/17/2022(UTC), jlm on 10/17/2022(UTC), Christian Hallauer on 11/4/2022(UTC)
L. Banasky  
#15 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2022 4:16:51 AM(UTC)
L. Banasky

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/16/2007(UTC)
Posts: 570

Thanks: 130 times
Was thanked: 127 time(s) in 89 post(s)
Thanks Tim,
Great news, eager to try it out.
Thanks again,
Larry
thanks 2 users thanked L. Banasky for this useful post.
specktech on 10/17/2022(UTC), jlm on 10/17/2022(UTC)
specktech  
#16 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2022 11:17:59 AM(UTC)
specktech

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/20/2021(UTC)
Posts: 44

Thanks: 316 times
Was thanked: 12 time(s) in 11 post(s)
So excited to see a message from Tim! I have watched so many hours of your tutorial videos Tim. ViaCad pro V12 constantly amazes me. Its taken me quite a few hours to get to a point where I can model just about anything I need. I hope you never let this amazing program fade away. I wish that the mesh symmtery function worked better. Also please bring back that deform face tool. I wish more than anything that we had that mesh to nurbs functionality.So curious if anyone knows what third party conversion software Punchcad was using to convert the mesh to nurbs. Made my day to see a message from Tim!!!!!
thanks 1 user thanked specktech for this useful post.
jlm on 10/17/2022(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE  
#17 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2022 2:07:51 PM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 899
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 45 times
Was thanked: 260 time(s) in 177 post(s)
Moi3d uses practically the same mesh to nurbs. Just needs to be an obj. I've checked the results on both and it's almost the same.
ViaCAD Pro 10, 11+ Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD Pro V12 + Power Pack Pro
Windows 10 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
thanks 1 user thanked UGMENTALCASE for this useful post.
specktech on 10/26/2022(UTC)
2murray  
#18 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2022 8:58:38 PM(UTC)
2murray

Rank: Member

Joined: 2/15/2022(UTC)
Posts: 13

Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 10 post(s)
Mesh2NURBS used NPower/IntegrityWare libraries, they do Cyborg3D and various SolidWorks/3DSMax/OnShape plugins.
thanks 1 user thanked 2murray for this useful post.
specktech on 10/26/2022(UTC)
specktech  
#19 Posted : Wednesday, October 26, 2022 2:08:33 AM(UTC)
specktech

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/20/2021(UTC)
Posts: 44

Thanks: 316 times
Was thanked: 12 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Thanks 2murray and UGMENTALCASE. Apreciate the info. I looked at Npower and Cyborg3d awhile back. They look so awesome but are very expensive. I have Moi3d dialed in now, and have all the addons installed. Viacad and Moi3d work so well together using the step format. Thanks again for that tip about Moi3d using the OBJ.format. UGMENTALCASE. So curious UGMENTAL have you used the Porcelain lighting in Moi? It makes your models look so nice. I really enjoy modeling in ViaCAD then sending it over to Moi or Blender. Have a good one.
thanks 1 user thanked specktech for this useful post.
GARLIC on 10/27/2022(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE  
#20 Posted : Thursday, October 27, 2022 5:29:14 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 899
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 45 times
Was thanked: 260 time(s) in 177 post(s)
no not tried it to be honest. I use the bridge between MOI3D and Rocket3f, works good if you have a mesh file that you can take to obj (for rocket) retopo it then bridge it to moi3d for checking back against a model or whatever.
ViaCAD Pro 10, 11+ Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD Pro V12 + Power Pack Pro
Windows 10 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.