logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
flim  
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2022 7:18:11 AM(UTC)
flim

Rank: Guest

Joined: 1/17/2020(UTC)
Posts: 5
Man

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
This video shows a subd2nurbs function, but I cannot find it in SharkCAD Pro v12, it that command moved to somewhere?

https://youtu.be/PvH2WNWRg6g?t=331
SharkCAD Pro v12 Build(1588)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 21H2
thefro  
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2022 2:44:59 PM(UTC)
thefro

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 10/28/2014(UTC)
Posts: 82
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 8 post(s)
that function no longer exists in v12 it has been removed it was in v10
thanks 2 users thanked thefro for this useful post.
GARLIC on 1/14/2022(UTC), MPSchmied on 1/15/2022(UTC)
TimHman  
#3 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2022 4:49:42 PM(UTC)
TimHman

Rank: Guest

Joined: 2/27/2022(UTC)
Posts: 1

Is there a different way that you can easily create a surface from a top view of a mesh?
UGMENTALCASE  
#4 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2022 11:46:07 PM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 899
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 45 times
Was thanked: 260 time(s) in 177 post(s)
You can use spline on a surface. I do this by setting up a row of planes set one to the work plane, pick spline on a surface. Pick the mesh and then click away to make the points.

Repeat for each plane position. Then surface across those splines.
ViaCAD Pro 10, 11+ Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD Pro V12 + Power Pack Pro
Windows 10 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
thanks 1 user thanked UGMENTALCASE for this useful post.
specktech on 7/13/2022(UTC)
2murray  
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 3, 2022 10:16:29 PM(UTC)
2murray

Rank: Member

Joined: 2/15/2022(UTC)
Posts: 13

Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 10 post(s)
NURBS surfaces are smoother approximations of quad meshes, so they will pass through a mesh without ever being exactly on it. If you can extract the coordinates of the mesh's vertices (gotta be quad for this), you can format them as a GRID file .dat list and import that list as a spline surface into Shark/VCP and V5-V10 versions of 2D3D. If your mesh isn't quad, an .stl, say, you can pass orthogonal sections through that mesh and take the intersections as coordinates for a GRID. Marcus Bole's PolyCAD program switches quad meshes to NURBS or back the other way and you can specify the mesh vertices as interpolated (as PunchCAD GRID does) or as control point grid, has sophisticated numerical editing and local subdivision/rebuild, which is like adding a loop in a PunchCAD subD surface, but you can also remove loops.
V12 Shark and PowerPack still has mesh to analyticals, which is often more useful if you're rebuilding parametric objects rather than freeform.

Edited by user Thursday, March 3, 2022 10:23:54 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 2 users thanked 2murray for this useful post.
GARLIC on 3/4/2022(UTC), specktech on 7/13/2022(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.