logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
UGMENTALCASE  
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2020 7:55:05 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 899
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 45 times
Was thanked: 260 time(s) in 177 post(s)
Afternoon all.

I have a set of curves which are best fitted from some scanned data. I'm trying to create a revolve using them all. I've attached the file with them in. 6 Sections and a centre line. I've had some absolutely crazy results which clearly aren't right, and others which fail either with a warning of "this feature is not yet implemented" or some other illegal act which I didn't understand

Any help would be great.

Cheers
File Attachment(s):
TCT00108.sfx (24kb) downloaded 11 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ViaCAD Pro 10, 11+ Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD Pro V12 + Power Pack Pro
Windows 10 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
thanks 1 user thanked UGMENTALCASE for this useful post.
specktech on 6/2/2021(UTC)
Art Smith  
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2020 12:44:21 PM(UTC)
Art Smith

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 1/16/2015(UTC)
Posts: 351

Thanks: 49 times
Was thanked: 43 time(s) in 30 post(s)
UGMENTALCASE-

played with your set of curves for a while and got nowhere. "Skin" would yield a surface for the N curves but would not close the surface gap between the first and last curve...... picking the N curves with a different starting curve yielded slightly different surfaces with the gap in different places..... the shortest curve always induced a twist unless it was at the beginning or end of the sequence of curves submitted to "Skin". best of luck with your challenge

be well

Art
[email protected]
thanks 1 user thanked Art Smith for this useful post.
specktech on 6/2/2021(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE  
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2020 1:48:56 PM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 899
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 45 times
Was thanked: 260 time(s) in 177 post(s)
Hi thanks for giving it a blast for me. I'm the same. I can use more sections, but I'm sure I've done stuff like this before. Just can't figure it!
ViaCAD Pro 10, 11+ Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD Pro V12 + Power Pack Pro
Windows 10 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
thanks 1 user thanked UGMENTALCASE for this useful post.
specktech on 6/2/2021(UTC)
L. Banasky  
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2020 1:49:44 PM(UTC)
L. Banasky

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/16/2007(UTC)
Posts: 570

Thanks: 130 times
Was thanked: 127 time(s) in 89 post(s)
Played around with it, probably not what you are looking for.
Just a WAG.
Larry
L. Banasky attached the following image(s):
Revolve.jpg (72kb) downloaded 1 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
thanks 1 user thanked L. Banasky for this useful post.
specktech on 6/2/2021(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE  
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2020 2:00:26 PM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 899
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 45 times
Was thanked: 260 time(s) in 177 post(s)
So what have you done there Larry? I'm actually getting it to work but it will need 4 more section to get the rounded shape better. I'm actually getting different results now I've saved turned off and opened it up again!
ViaCAD Pro 10, 11+ Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD Pro V12 + Power Pack Pro
Windows 10 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
thanks 1 user thanked UGMENTALCASE for this useful post.
specktech on 6/2/2021(UTC)
L. Banasky  
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2020 4:14:28 PM(UTC)
L. Banasky

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/16/2007(UTC)
Posts: 570

Thanks: 130 times
Was thanked: 127 time(s) in 89 post(s)
I just drew a line to close each objects endpoints, and did a 'REVOLVE' solid, using the
line in the middle.
I almost never work with surfaces, so I really don't know what I'm doing.
Larry
thanks 1 user thanked L. Banasky for this useful post.
specktech on 6/2/2021(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE  
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2020 4:21:33 PM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 899
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 45 times
Was thanked: 260 time(s) in 177 post(s)
Ah ok got you. Yeah just make them closed profiles. Ok cool cheers :-)
ViaCAD Pro 10, 11+ Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD Pro V12 + Power Pack Pro
Windows 10 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
thanks 1 user thanked UGMENTALCASE for this useful post.
specktech on 6/2/2021(UTC)
murray  
#8 Posted : Monday, August 17, 2020 8:36:55 AM(UTC)
murray

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/24/2014(UTC)
Posts: 373
Australia

Thanks: 8 times
Was thanked: 103 time(s) in 84 post(s)
They can be done as surfaces with Shark's tools, two-point revolved surface worked for me, shift-selecting the profiles, releasing and nominating the axis' end points. Verify count says 6 arcs and 15 lines for the profiles, 21 surfaces are the result. But I passed a cut section through the surfaces afterwards and they're really incoherent, there's not an obvious closed profile for a solid, no evident design intent.
murray attached the following image(s):
incoherent profiles.PNG (22kb) downloaded 1 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
thanks 1 user thanked murray for this useful post.
specktech on 6/2/2021(UTC)
luk72  
#9 Posted : Sunday, January 3, 2021 4:57:59 PM(UTC)
luk72

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/17/2014(UTC)
Posts: 51

Was thanked: 15 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Originally Posted by: UGMENTALCASE Go to Quoted Post
Afternoon all.

I have a set of curves which are best fitted from some scanned data. I'm trying to create a revolve using them all. I've attached the file with them in. 6 Sections and a centre line. I've had some absolutely crazy results which clearly aren't right, and others which fail either with a warning of "this feature is not yet implemented" or some other illegal act which I didn't understand

Any help would be great.

Cheers


Enjoy!
File Attachment(s):
TCT00108_3_fillettwolines-rad0,2mm.sfx (27kb) downloaded 2 time(s).
TCT00108_4_edit-changeobjecttype-bezier.sfx (29kb) downloaded 1 time(s).
TCT00108_5_jojncurve.sfx (89kb) downloaded 1 time(s).
TCT00108_6_interpolatespline.sfx (91kb) downloaded 1 time(s).
TCT00108_7_guideskinsurface.sfx (132kb) downloaded 2 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
thanks 1 user thanked luk72 for this useful post.
specktech on 6/2/2021(UTC)
luk72  
#10 Posted : Sunday, January 3, 2021 5:00:59 PM(UTC)
luk72

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/17/2014(UTC)
Posts: 51

Was thanked: 15 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Originally Posted by: UGMENTALCASE Go to Quoted Post
Afternoon all.

I have a set of curves which are best fitted from some scanned data. I'm trying to create a revolve using them all. I've attached the file with them in. 6 Sections and a centre line. I've had some absolutely crazy results which clearly aren't right, and others which fail either with a warning of "this feature is not yet implemented" or some other illegal act which I didn't understand

Any help would be great.

Cheers


Result. Enjoy!
luk72 attached the following image(s):
Zrzut ekranu 2021-01-04 001010.jpg (148kb) downloaded 11 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
thanks 1 user thanked luk72 for this useful post.
specktech on 6/2/2021(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.