logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
futagoza  
#1 Posted : Monday, February 18, 2019 4:27:28 AM(UTC)
futagoza

Rank: Guest

Joined: 10/17/2018(UTC)
Posts: 11
Man
Germany
Location: Berlin

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Hi all,

maybe interesting for some of you. I am not sure if you know
that Michael Gibson, father of Rhino3D, has implemented SubD2NURBS
in his current v4 beta of Moment of Inspiration. :-)

MoI is imho an easy to use and affordable NURBS modeler, which
is also cross-platform (Win/Mac).

For the interested folks here are some links what can be done
with MoI:

Zarkow's MoI Gallery gives you a good overview imho:

https://www.instagram.com/christianschweger/?fbclid=IwAR3Cy9ARknvSVm5mWnWamxHXpQmQS60JyvuMTIx2RuXGK6TBk78R2xq3oeg

A paid beginners tutorial:

https://gumroad.com/l/vavRq/moi3D?fbclid=IwAR10gBxaCZNjKvma8B85pB_32tcXf2OufxZapzlXRQDmdZXY6Q-Aef9iUNo

Elephant samples (free Node Editor) like Grasshopper for Rhino:

https://www.instagram.com/nodeology/?fbclid=IwAR2afbXnvnWfSnIkZngsdoPywP-tvExpiv58VRX5znIguGzIWg-ZECj-ixw

And Maxim Smirnow's free and powerful scripts:

http://moi.maxsm.net/

Hope you find this info useful!

Regards
Stefan


thanks 1 user thanked futagoza for this useful post.
GARLIC on 2/18/2019(UTC)
futagoza  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2019 2:45:03 AM(UTC)
futagoza

Rank: Guest

Joined: 10/17/2018(UTC)
Posts: 11
Man
Germany
Location: Berlin

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
What i have forgotten to mention is that MoI can run also from a USB
stick and users are allowed to use both the Mac and Windows version
(not simultaniuosly of course) and can install it on as many machines
as they like.

Regards
Stefan
digitalphaser  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2019 1:46:14 PM(UTC)
digitalphaser

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 4/17/2015(UTC)
Posts: 231
Man
Germany
Location: Berlin

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 43 time(s) in 35 post(s)
I have long wanted to try this great software. I looked through the documentation and a lot of videos. But I did not find the time to start a real project.
murray  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 3:58:23 AM(UTC)
murray

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/24/2014(UTC)
Posts: 288
Australia

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 42 time(s) in 36 post(s)
It is intriguing. ViaCAD is licensed for single PCs, but SharkCAD Pro has a multi-machine non-simultaneous license scheme like MoI. So far as Shark's Mac-and-PC compatibility, one aspect of Mac is limiting IMO. Several of Shark's import/export translators, CATIA, Pro/E, SW, Parasolid, NX, don't work on Mac, they're PC only. I'm interested in whether MoI requires meshes to be mostly quads, like PPP, or can take triangular formats like .stl and convert them directly to nurbs.
futagoza  
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 5:24:04 AM(UTC)
futagoza

Rank: Guest

Joined: 10/17/2018(UTC)
Posts: 11
Man
Germany
Location: Berlin

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Hi,

the new SubD2NURBS implementation uses quad dominant meshes.

However there is an old .obj importer script available which
allows you to import also triangle meshes, so that you have
then a facetted triangle based solid or surface.

http://moi.maxsm.net/startpos/8

P.S. Regarding Mac / PC ... I purchased an upgrade to ViaCADPro
v10 and PowerPackPro v10 last October and now my Mac broke. So
i mailed support if they can switch the license to Windows and
if they can provide my the Windows installers, because i have not
enough funds to buy me a new Mac. And the response was very
dissapointing for me. I was told i had not purchased a download
insurance (what is this ... ???) and they offered me an upgrade
option to v11 and PowerPack v11 for additional money. :-( As understood
from previous forum threads PowerPack v11 does not include Subd2NURBS.

Had i known this before, i had not spend so much money and had waited a
couple of more days for the MoI v4 beta with the Subd2NURBS feature.

Regards
Stefan

Edited by user Wednesday, February 20, 2019 5:31:24 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

murray  
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 6:04:19 AM(UTC)
murray

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/24/2014(UTC)
Posts: 288
Australia

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 42 time(s) in 36 post(s)
I don't think that the current PowerPack for V11 is a Pro version, I think I've read in these threads that V9/V10 Pro is a parallel Evosoft project rather than Encore. Encore has new owners now, Evosoft (Tim) has a different relationship with them. Wait and see is my advice. I can't see the effort invested in the nurbs conversion being abandoned, especially since experience has given me better and better results with retopology tools. I have a machine with a VC10 PowerPackPro seat that's broken down too. I don't know if I'll be able to recover that, so I may be in a similar situation to you with that seat, but I do have SharkFX/CAD Pro seats V9/V10 with PPPro as safety nets, their translators give me access to a wider clientele.

Edited by user Wednesday, February 20, 2019 6:05:50 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

UGMENTALCASE  
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 6:26:50 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 676
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 20 times
Was thanked: 73 time(s) in 60 post(s)
Murray is right, there is no pro power pack V11, it's just power pack. You have lost subd to nurbs, and the unwrap is now a part of V11 Pro. It's also in power pack v11, but I got the impression it had been moved to v11 pro and not taken out of power pack properly.

As for the translators, I have tested them. Parasolid, NX all work good. Catia, will load files but the export is no good. I have been on with Todd about this, and something is a miss. I understand Spatial provide a Catia V5 R8 translator, rare you would have anything older than that, but it just won't load the exported file in Catia V5 R21, 22, 24 or 26. When I know more I'll pop on here and explain.

This is stopping me upgrading. To be able to switch between Shark, Catia and NX (with Parasolid) is important to me, and when it's fixed I'll be looking very closely at the upgrade.
ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
futagoza  
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 6:40:34 AM(UTC)
futagoza

Rank: Guest

Joined: 10/17/2018(UTC)
Posts: 11
Man
Germany
Location: Berlin

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Yes, i have lost SubD2NURBs, the reason why i upgraded. :-(

I also don't understand what is so difficult for a company
to provide me the Windows installers and the license.

Had they told me it would require a small transfer fee
it had been o.k., but now as it currently is they have
lost a potential customer, upgrading in the future.

Regards
Stefan

UGMENTALCASE  
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 6:44:28 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 676
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 20 times
Was thanked: 73 time(s) in 60 post(s)
Yeah I mean it's not really download insurance is it? Plus is there a way to find out what their download insurance covers? Fairly certain it wouldn't be your mac dying and the following events.

Pretty poor really, you know last year was full of bugs being fixed and updates to builds, it's slowly got quieter and quieter and quieter. Could it be a glimpse into what's to come?
ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
rockyroad_us  
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 8:14:22 AM(UTC)
rockyroad_us

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/12/2009(UTC)
Posts: 546
Man
United States
Location: In my place

Was thanked: 24 time(s) in 23 post(s)
My suggestion. Sell the license you just bought. You will have to transfer the license. Get the insurance thingy or just clone the hard drive to a new mac.
FX 9-1224 Pro10-1371
OSX.11.6
2x2.8GHz Quad Xeon
32GB
Radeon HD6870 2GB
Work
futagoza  
#11 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 11:00:46 AM(UTC)
futagoza

Rank: Guest

Joined: 10/17/2018(UTC)
Posts: 11
Man
Germany
Location: Berlin

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Thanks for the tips.

I will then see to sell the license. Should be no problem
imho, because i am an EU customer.

Regards
Stefan
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.