logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Welshter  
#1 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2019 11:40:36 AM(UTC)
Welshter

Rank: Junior Member

Joined: 7/10/2007(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 1 times
So, I develop electrical, pneumatic, hydraulic drawings for a customer. This week I needed to develop a pneumatic drawing. This circuit is close to a drawing I made a few months ago so I duplicated it since the base drawing was mostly complete. I copied some objects from a master object list that was developed on ViaCAD Pro V9 and pasted them into my new drawing which is ViaCAD Pro11. When I exported the drawing to a pdf file or attempted to print the drawing from V11 my copied/pasted objects disappeared. All I have is lines. I am using a MacBook Pro laptop with the latest version of OS10 Mojave. Is there a work around? This is my lively hood so I need to get fixed asap. Thank you!
jdi000  
#2 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2019 11:47:01 AM(UTC)
jdi000

Rank: Administration

Joined: 7/29/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,832
United States

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 75 time(s) in 73 post(s)
Hello

Try opening the older v9 file in v11 and save that off. Then reopen it and try copying and pasting between these files.

What are these objects you are copying and pasting ?



Regards

Jason
Windows 10, Win 7
Welshter  
#3 Posted : Sunday, January 27, 2019 9:19:19 PM(UTC)
Welshter

Rank: Junior Member

Joined: 7/10/2007(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 1 times
I did that when I first discovered the problem. It didn't change. This afternoon I updated the drawing and was able to save the drawing as a pdf and it worked perfectly. Don't understand what happened. I noticed today that my scaling is way off. My symbols are typically within a 25 square mm foot print. The drawing is 573 mm wide! Not sure what happened. I usually keep my drawings within a 'B' size format - 11" X 16". This drawing is 2 dimensional and is a pneumatic circuit, Thank you for the suggestion, I appreciate it!
MPSchmied  
#4 Posted : Monday, January 28, 2019 6:41:15 AM(UTC)
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 246
Man
Germany

Thanks: 46 times
Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 13 post(s)
For printing your drawing you should copy it in a draw view and setup the scale only in the draw view and not in the page layout. Otherwise your text sizes and line weights are wrong. Beware, changing the draw view scale after finishing the drawing can cause big errors, wrong sizes and line weights.
Welshter  
#5 Posted : Monday, January 28, 2019 11:56:05 AM(UTC)
Welshter

Rank: Junior Member

Joined: 7/10/2007(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 1 times
Ok, thank you! I will be sure to scale in draw view.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.