logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
UGMENTALCASE  
#1 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 3:44:30 PM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 569
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 55 time(s) in 47 post(s)
I have a little mesh, which has 363 faces. Subdivide it once, and it'll allow me to right click and change object type to faces. Do it twice and it won't. Only once subdivided twice, the mesh analysis tells me it's still 363 faces. So which is wrong, the analysis, or the right click change object type?

Edited by user Saturday, December 29, 2018 3:58:02 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
murray  
#2 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2018 8:03:40 PM(UTC)
murray

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/24/2014(UTC)
Posts: 255
Australia

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 35 time(s) in 31 post(s)
Works for me. The facet count ramps up with subdivision applied as expected and the option to convert is available until the facet count exceeds 3K. That's the reason PowerPack Pro has convert to nurbs. PC here, Win 10. TurboCAD Pro and even FreeCAD can convert facet objects or meshes with much higher counts to solids or solid meshes, if you've a particular use for it.

Edited by user Sunday, December 30, 2018 8:14:15 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

UGMENTALCASE  
#3 Posted : Monday, December 31, 2018 2:13:21 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 569
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 55 time(s) in 47 post(s)
Hi Murray,

Sorry this is version 11, so in power pack Pro you don't have mesh to nurb anymore, it's gone in version 11. I'll try and do a video today and post it.

Cheers
ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
UGMENTALCASE  
#4 Posted : Monday, December 31, 2018 6:23:27 PM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 569
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 55 time(s) in 47 post(s)
I tried this in both Shark and V11 and neither count went up, although it did allow me to change things to faces on a different mesh.
So if you draw a basic mesh shape and then sub divide the facet count changes?
ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
murray  
#5 Posted : Monday, December 31, 2018 7:14:53 PM(UTC)
murray

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/24/2014(UTC)
Posts: 255
Australia

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 35 time(s) in 31 post(s)
Yes. If you create a cube and repeatedly subdivide, it becomes a progressively closer approximation to a sphere, as if you were repeatedly chamfering all of its edges, which logically creates additional faces.
UGMENTALCASE  
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 01, 2019 11:54:46 PM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 569
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 55 time(s) in 47 post(s)
So is this something else which isn't working right?

Edited by user Tuesday, January 01, 2019 11:56:36 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
ScreenCapture_2019-1-2 06.09.01.mp4 (3,066kb) downloaded 12 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
murray  
#7 Posted : Wednesday, January 02, 2019 5:50:14 AM(UTC)
murray

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/24/2014(UTC)
Posts: 255
Australia

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 35 time(s) in 31 post(s)
Seems that it isn't working right from the subdivide button. Apply a subD level in the inspector and it works as it should.
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.