logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
flatpack  
#1 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2018 8:00:47 PM(UTC)
flatpack

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/29/2014(UTC)
Posts: 261

Thanks: 96 times
Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Does anyone know how to duplicate an object (many multiples - using a linear array type operation) along a surface?

Its a curved surface and needs to follow a specific path with an equal distance between each object.

I'm using SharkCAD.

I attached a screenshot of what I need help with and also the .slt file.

Thanks in advance.
File Attachment(s):
Rivets.slt (11kb) downloaded 1 time(s).
flatpack attached the following image(s):
Rivets on surface.png (79kb) downloaded 0 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
UGMENTALCASE  
#2 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2018 11:38:22 PM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 628
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 64 time(s) in 54 post(s)
Does 'path duplicate' pick up the curve on the surface? Not sure if it only works with straight lines or not.

**Edit**It does work, just tried it. Go MODIFY - ADVANCED TRANSFORM - PATH DUPLICATE. The last action '2 points for alignment axis, is basically start and end of the line you are going down.**

Edited by user Friday, October 26, 2018 11:51:36 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

UGMENTALCASE attached the following image(s):
Untitled 1.jpg (23kb) downloaded 0 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
thanks 1 user thanked UGMENTALCASE for this useful post.
flatpack on 10/27/2018(UTC)
rockyroad_us  
#3 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2018 10:31:12 AM(UTC)
rockyroad_us

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/12/2009(UTC)
Posts: 546
Man
United States
Location: In my place

Was thanked: 24 time(s) in 23 post(s)
Just use the linear duplicate command since the surface is pretty much extruded straight. See example using -1" spacing with 20 duplicates.

rockyroad_us attached the following image(s):
linearduplicate.jpg (87kb) downloaded 1 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
FX 9-1224 Pro10-1371
OSX.11.6
2x2.8GHz Quad Xeon
32GB
Radeon HD6870 2GB
Work
flatpack  
#4 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2018 10:58:47 AM(UTC)
flatpack

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/29/2014(UTC)
Posts: 261

Thanks: 96 times
Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Originally Posted by: rockyroad_us Go to Quoted Post
Just use the linear duplicate command since the surface is pretty much extruded straight. See example using -1" spacing with 20 duplicates.





THank you, I will try that also; what I'm trying to duplicate is a tiny rivet head along the Z axis (well along the curve in a general "Z-ish" direction).
flatpack  
#5 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2018 11:08:44 AM(UTC)
flatpack

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/29/2014(UTC)
Posts: 261

Thanks: 96 times
Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 9 post(s)
I tried Path Duplicate and it works except I can't get the Rivet head to follow the contour. I'm not sure how to make it look like the rivets are actually installed in the curved surface. Its just for a rendering so doesn't need to be perfect.

The only other way I can think of is use Points on a Curve to make even-distance points and then manually place and rotate each.. But i can't help thinking there's an easier way.
flatpack attached the following image(s):
Screen Shot 2018-10-27 at 1.09.17 PM.png (70kb) downloaded 3 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
rockyroad_us  
#6 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2018 11:42:29 AM(UTC)
rockyroad_us

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/12/2009(UTC)
Posts: 546
Man
United States
Location: In my place

Was thanked: 24 time(s) in 23 post(s)
you need to use the pattern command with along path. This is in the 3D tools.

I take that back. that only works for a hole or a feature on the part that you want to duplicate. You are in the right track with path duplicate using the option tool to use the normal of the curve. It is best you place the rivet on the xy plane and follow the prompts. It is a bit tricky. Just don't put the first rivet on the curve but rather the xy plane.

Edited by user Saturday, October 27, 2018 11:57:36 AM(UTC)  | Reason: attaching pic

rockyroad_us attached the following image(s):
linearduplicate2.jpg (27kb) downloaded 0 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
FX 9-1224 Pro10-1371
OSX.11.6
2x2.8GHz Quad Xeon
32GB
Radeon HD6870 2GB
Work
thanks 1 user thanked rockyroad_us for this useful post.
flatpack on 10/27/2018(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE  
#7 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2018 11:58:22 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 628
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 64 time(s) in 54 post(s)
Suppose you can always use a sphere send the sphere down the curve, with path duplicate, so it's got a little sticking above the surface. Then use your surface to split the sphere solids, leaving you with a rivet head.
ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
flatpack  
#8 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2018 12:15:48 PM(UTC)
flatpack

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/29/2014(UTC)
Posts: 261

Thanks: 96 times
Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Originally Posted by: rockyroad_us Go to Quoted Post
you need to use the pattern command with along path. This is in the 3D tools.

I take that back. that only works for a hole or a feature on the part that you want to duplicate. You are in the right track with path duplicate using the option tool to use the normal of the curve. It is best you place the rivet on the xy plane and follow the prompts. It is a bit tricky. Just don't put the first rivet on the curve but rather the xy plane.



Hey! You did it! Thanks! Exactly what I was looking for. :)
flatpack  
#9 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2018 12:20:46 PM(UTC)
flatpack

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/29/2014(UTC)
Posts: 261

Thanks: 96 times
Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 9 post(s)
8
Originally Posted by: UGMENTALCASE Go to Quoted Post
Suppose you can always use a sphere send the sphere down the curve, with path duplicate, so it's got a little sticking above the surface. Then use your surface to split the sphere solids, leaving you with a rivet head.




Thank you! That's a really interesting AND workable solution. In the future it would be nice if there was a 3D Array tool that could be used for a variety of rather complex patterns. It could duplicate an object in all directions in a preset or numerically-driven manual input. Maybe its in the works -- or already exists and I just dont use it?
UGMENTALCASE  
#10 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2018 12:34:17 PM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 628
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 64 time(s) in 54 post(s)
I've noticed with some of the pattern tools etc that the work plane affects the end result. So when you look at the work plane, you have the two big arrow outlines and the thin little arrow is what seems to be used in some instances.
ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
flatpack  
#11 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2018 1:11:47 PM(UTC)
flatpack

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/29/2014(UTC)
Posts: 261

Thanks: 96 times
Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Originally Posted by: UGMENTALCASE Go to Quoted Post
I've noticed with some of the pattern tools etc that the work plane affects the end result. So when you look at the work plane, you have the two big arrow outlines and the thin little arrow is what seems to be used in some instances.



Good point -– it takes some experimenting. I was able to get it this time but it was by adjusting where I was clicking on my object as its reference point, and also trying various "start" and "end" points. Each yielded a rather different result..
Antoine  
#12 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2018 3:58:53 AM(UTC)
Antoine

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 10/14/2014(UTC)
Posts: 210
Man
Switzerland

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 31 time(s) in 25 post(s)
Hello,

Maybe it will help you.

be careful, do not forget the hidden function ..... lol ?

option (Alt) when last entered with the mouse to choose the support surface.

https://www.dropbox.com/...licate%20normal.mp4?dl=0

Antoine
mrconcepts.ch
design-r.ch
SharkFX 10
MacOS 10.13.6
Mac Pro 2,7 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
AMD FirePro 6144 Mo
flatpack  
#13 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2018 7:45:09 AM(UTC)
flatpack

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/29/2014(UTC)
Posts: 261

Thanks: 96 times
Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Antoine Go to Quoted Post

be careful, do not forget the hidden function ..... lol ?

option (Alt) when last entered with the mouse to choose the support surface.

https://www.dropbox.com/...licate%20normal.mp4?dl=0



I didn't know this! Thank you Antoine. And thanks for the video reference!
Antoine  
#14 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2018 12:52:00 AM(UTC)
Antoine

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 10/14/2014(UTC)
Posts: 210
Man
Switzerland

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 31 time(s) in 25 post(s)
Quote:
I didn't know this! Thank you Antoine. And thanks for the video reference!


Thank you.
Yes there are many things hidden in this software.
Unfortunately, the hidden options disappear from the menus with the years.

As I have already said often, the manual instructions must be corrected and above all, be made more attractive.

Antoine
mrconcepts.ch
design-r.ch
SharkFX 10
MacOS 10.13.6
Mac Pro 2,7 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
AMD FirePro 6144 Mo
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.