logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
carsten  
#1 Posted : Saturday, September 01, 2018 2:23:32 PM(UTC)
carsten

Rank: Guest

Joined: 2/4/2018(UTC)
Posts: 3

Thanks: 5 times
Hi folks,
i´m new to shark cad and have the V10 pro + Power Pack Pro V10. So i try to slice an imported STL File in simply 2 halfs. I hoped if i would buy Powerpack Pro it might be possible to change the mesh stl into a solid to use the boolean or slicing tools of shark but this simply does not work. I could not find a documentation for the powerpack pro so it is like searching a needle in the hay.
Is there anybody who can help me with this task by giving some advice?
Thanks in advance!
Carsten
UGMENTALCASE  
#2 Posted : Saturday, September 01, 2018 2:49:04 PM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 436
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 15 times
Was thanked: 38 time(s) in 32 post(s)
There is a mesh to analytic option or mesh to nurbs. Or if you have a small enough count of facets you can right click the model and click 'change object type' and then pick solid. It's restricted to 3000 facets, strange but works well.
The other tools work OK too, but it sort of depends what shapes the model is made up of, as it uses primitives to convert mesh to solid.
ViaCAD Pro 10 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
thanks 1 user thanked UGMENTALCASE for this useful post.
carsten on 9/2/2018(UTC)
rokoko  
#3 Posted : Saturday, September 01, 2018 2:49:59 PM(UTC)
rokoko

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/28/2013(UTC)
Posts: 320

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 38 time(s) in 34 post(s)
viacad pro 10 powerpackpro, viacad pro 9 german, mac os 10.8, 10.9
thanks 1 user thanked rokoko for this useful post.
carsten on 9/2/2018(UTC)
Tim Olson  
#4 Posted : Saturday, September 01, 2018 6:45:23 PM(UTC)
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,947
United States

Was thanked: 202 time(s) in 178 post(s)
Hi Carsten

There is no split tool for meshes. We are looking into one however for a future release.

You could try two surface boolean subtracts with blocks. Surface booleans accept meshes.

Tim
Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
Links to ViaCAD Resources
thanks 1 user thanked Tim Olson for this useful post.
carsten on 9/2/2018(UTC)
carsten  
#5 Posted : Sunday, September 02, 2018 3:58:37 AM(UTC)
carsten

Rank: Guest

Joined: 2/4/2018(UTC)
Posts: 3

Thanks: 5 times
Hi you all,
thank you very much for those fast replys! As a new by with Shark Cad i´m realy happy to find a such reactive community!
Have a great day!
Regards
Carsten
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.