logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Dyn_Metalworks  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2018 4:41:55 PM(UTC)
Dyn_Metalworks

Rank: Guest

Joined: 11/30/2015(UTC)
Posts: 26

I drew a hopper (which is attached) and I need to move the side pieces to flat top view so I can load them into my CAM software to cut them on a plasma table. How would I go about this?
File Attachment(s):
Hopper.pdf (5kb) downloaded 10 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
jdi000  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2018 4:49:56 PM(UTC)
jdi000

Rank: Administration

Joined: 7/29/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,726
United States

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 67 time(s) in 65 post(s)
Hello

There are several ways it depends on the object is it a 3d object?

You can do a model to sheet of the whole object and then make the views what you need.
Then scale view 1:1
then flatten the view
then save each piece to a separate file or layer and export

Regards
Jason
Windows 10, Win 7
MPSchmied  
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 4:24:59 AM(UTC)
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 175
Man
Germany

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Originally Posted by: jdi000 Go to Quoted Post
a model to sheet of the whole object

No this can you not. Using Model to Sheet for this is senseless, because you have to create for each surface a new working plane and a new User View and have to manually create the correct view which is perpendicular to the surfaces and not perpendicular to xyz.

Originally Posted by: Dyn_Metalworks Go to Quoted Post
I drew a hopper (which is attached) and I need to move the side pieces to flat top view so I can load them into my CAM software to cut them on a plasma table. How would I go about this?

Either you create for each surface a extra Working Plane and a extra "User View" with Using View the Plane and create a new view and so far, or you draw just lines and rotate the lines manually to the xy plane. In Power Pack is a unroll Faces Feature, i don't know how this works. But i guess you must create Surfaces first. Brics CAD Have A Metal Sheet Module, Maybe this will be able to unroll your Model, but you have to shell the model first.

Edited by user Thursday, May 17, 2018 4:29:24 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

jdi000  
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 5:36:51 AM(UTC)
jdi000

Rank: Administration

Joined: 7/29/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,726
United States

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 67 time(s) in 65 post(s)
Yes that is correct the views have to be created , but I would create a user work plane and custom view for the 2 sides you need and use model to sheet to get the 2 flat pieces you need.

So I would using only ViaCAD

create work plane 3 points to align the side or front of the hopper
use View --> view the plane
select new view name it and hit apply
repeat this to get the other side or front

select all

create model to sheet

in model to sheet properties change the view to the front for the front
and change the side to the side view you created.
move the views out of the border and set scale to 1:1
stretch the draw view
center the object
flatten view
then clean up the extra lines
repeat for the other piece you you need.

Regards
Jason

I have attached a sample I quickly created with surface faces

Edited by user Thursday, May 17, 2018 5:37:40 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
hopperex.vcp (73kb) downloaded 1 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Windows 10, Win 7
MPSchmied  
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 6:59:50 AM(UTC)
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 175
Man
Germany

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Or you create the plates you need in 3d (Make cover surfaces and use Thicken Solid) and create a cover surface to the xy plane and use the Magnet Tool for moving your plates to the ground.
MPSchmied attached the following image(s):
Zwischenablage01.png (28kb) downloaded 0 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Dyn_Metalworks  
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 7:40:25 AM(UTC)
Dyn_Metalworks

Rank: Guest

Joined: 11/30/2015(UTC)
Posts: 26

Originally Posted by: MPSchmied Go to Quoted Post
Or you create the plates you need in 3d (Make cover surfaces and use Thicken Solid) and create a cover surface to the xy plane and use the Magnet Tool for moving your plates to the ground.


Worked perfect, Thanks
UGMENTALCASE  
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 7:45:15 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 309
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 27 post(s)
You can use unroll surface in power pack. for some unknown reason it's only unrolled half of it, but you can mirror what is there and you'll get it all in
UGMENTALCASE attached the following image(s):
unroll surface.jpg (41kb) downloaded 1 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ViaCAD Pro 10 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
Users browsing this topic
Guest (3)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.