logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Jolyon  
#1 Posted : Saturday, March 24, 2018 3:07:44 PM(UTC)
Jolyon

Rank: Guest

Joined: 9/27/2017(UTC)
Posts: 163

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 13 post(s)
When I join an interpolate spline to itself to make a loop shape ...

Gripper centre has a certain position

Turn on the spline points

reselect the spline and you'll see that the Gripper centre has moved

(A spline does NOT do this when not looped - so I guess this is not correct behaviour)

It's not really a huge problem - just I have to keep moving the damn Gripper Centre (if a spline is looped and my control points are shown)

Jol
thanks 1 user thanked Jolyon for this useful post.
GARLIC on 3/24/2018(UTC)
Todd Quinlan  
#2 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2018 8:05:21 AM(UTC)
Todd Quinlan

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/20/2007(UTC)
Posts: 70

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Hi Jol

What product, build and OS are you working on? I tried to repeat on our test machine using Sierra and 1365, but see no change in the center point of the gripper.

Do you actually use the join curve tool on the spline or are you just connecting the Endpoints?
Todd Q
CAD Support Specialist
Encore Software/ IMSI Design
Jolyon  
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2018 1:07:25 PM(UTC)
Jolyon

Rank: Guest

Joined: 9/27/2017(UTC)
Posts: 163

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Hi Todd

Thanks for replying - welcome to the party !

I wish splines were better and more consistent

So - here I have 2 Interpolate splines.

Spline A was drawn open - it's 'gripper centre' does not change whether control points are ON or OFF

Spline B was drawn closed - it's 'gripper centre' changes depending on whether control points are ON or OFF

Let me know what you think

Jol

(Mac High Sierra Shark b1355 )

Edited by user Thursday, March 29, 2018 1:35:29 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
splines gripper centres.sfx (5kb) downloaded 1 time(s).
Jolyon attached the following image(s):
gripper center.jpg (113kb) downloaded 1 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Jolyon  
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2018 1:09:03 PM(UTC)
Jolyon

Rank: Guest

Joined: 9/27/2017(UTC)
Posts: 163

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Further - with Spline A - try to take the end point of the spline and join it to the beginning point - you cannot ! No snap ! I always need to place a point - and snap to the point.
Jolyon  
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2018 1:32:07 PM(UTC)
Jolyon

Rank: Guest

Joined: 9/27/2017(UTC)
Posts: 163

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Bezier Splines are NOT nice to use - they should be a JOY to use ... like in Illustrator

- or even better, like Affinity Designer ! https://vimeo.com/107567054
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.