logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
NeuTechFLA  
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2018 6:48:24 PM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 231

Thanks: 27 times
Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Each time I have used MTS, my brain was doing flip-flops trying to reconcile what was being presented on the drawing relative to the model. So, I used a modeling technique (the cube) that I have used to demonstrate Sketch planes in CREO to help me understand what was occurring. This is when the issue with MTS became clear.

The default "front" model views between aerospace and default are different. But MTS does not seem to follow the model's "views definition" between default and aerospace. It's a bit confusing, but regardless of the setting "default" or "aerospace", MTS uses "default" as the view layout. This is not a good thing. Is this the issue many of you have been complaining for years?

UPDATE:
My apologies my friends, I forgot to attach the other pieces to the puzzle. Essentially MTS is "projecting" views properly but the views it is projecting are not correct views from the model. In other words, it would seem the canned, saved views in the model are not congruent with MTS.

Edited by user Friday, March 16, 2018 6:13:30 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

NeuTechFLA attached the following image(s):
MTS-2.jpg (423kb) downloaded 23 time(s).
MTS-AEROSPACE.jpg (408kb) downloaded 10 time(s).
MTS-DEFAULT.jpg (391kb) downloaded 11 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Jolyon  
#2 Posted : Friday, March 16, 2018 2:24:02 AM(UTC)
Jolyon

Rank: Guest

Joined: 9/27/2017(UTC)
Posts: 182

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 15 post(s)
Golly - yes, this affects me

I need to test this
NeuTechFLA  
#3 Posted : Saturday, March 17, 2018 1:29:37 PM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 231

Thanks: 27 times
Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Do we have the power to change the standard views within VC/Shark?
MPSchmied  
#4 Posted : Saturday, March 17, 2018 3:43:13 PM(UTC)
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 192
Man
Germany

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Create first a 3 pts plane and then view the plane and create a new view. This new view can be used in a draw view as a view option.

Edited by user Saturday, March 17, 2018 3:44:11 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

NeuTechFLA  
#5 Posted : Saturday, March 17, 2018 5:41:09 PM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 231

Thanks: 27 times
Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Thank you for the info. I have created a "Start Part" that has new model views that allow MTS to work properly with 3rd angle projection.
MPSchmied  
#6 Posted : Monday, March 19, 2018 8:44:45 AM(UTC)
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 192
Man
Germany

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Originally Posted by: NeuTechFLA Go to Quoted Post
I have created a "Start Part" that has new model views
This is very interesting, please tell me how you doing that.

Tim Olson  
#7 Posted : Monday, March 19, 2018 10:23:13 PM(UTC)
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,921
United States

Was thanked: 191 time(s) in 168 post(s)
>>But MTS does not seem to follow the model's "views definition" between default and aerospace.

MTS uses template files. A template is a regular viacad file that contains a drawing border, title block, and any number of draw views.

The draw views in a template have "hard wired" view orientations that are independent of your views in ViaCAD.

You may want to consider creating a custom template with the view orientations you desire. I've attached a tip that shows how to create a custom template.


Tim

Edited by user Monday, March 19, 2018 10:25:12 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
CustomMTS.pdf (113kb) downloaded 19 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
Links to ViaCAD Resources
thanks 1 user thanked Tim Olson for this useful post.
MPSchmied on 3/20/2018(UTC)
NeuTechFLA  
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 11:37:19 AM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 231

Thanks: 27 times
Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Tim, it's not MTS that has the issue. MTS does in fact project views properly relative to the "TOP" view. The issue is in the model views specifically. The programmed "TOP" view and "FRONT" views are not orthographically correct relative to one another. You have them 90 degrees off in two axes. If memory serves, around the X and Z.
NeuTechFLA  
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2018 12:23:42 PM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 231

Thanks: 27 times
Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MPSchmied Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: NeuTechFLA Go to Quoted Post
I have created a "Start Part" that has new model views
This is very interesting, please tell me how you doing that.



This requires a few things to work.

1. Open a new part and set the view to TOP

2. Click "New View", name the View to whatever you want. I named mine; True Front.
a. Enter the appropriate X axis angle (I assume you use 1st angle projection)
b. Create New View, for the remaining five views all while keeping your projections correct.
c. Save the part with a name you will remember to use each time you start VC/Shark. Mine is named; Shark Aero Start.sfx

This is only for working in the model.

The following is my experience in Shark. I am not sure if ViaCad is the same. But...

3. When you are ready to create your drawing, use MTS and allow the software to place the views. Then, before adding dimensions, delete the two projected views derived from the TOP view. Then project the views you need for your drawing. You will need to use Update Views to get the correct features in each view.

What I do not know is if your projections will be 3rd angle or 1st angle. I think that was set up when your software was first configured.

If you have any issues, let me know and I will try to assist.

Edited by user Tuesday, March 20, 2018 12:31:49 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user thanked NeuTechFLA for this useful post.
MPSchmied on 3/21/2018(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.