logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
UGMENTALCASE  
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 2:18:21 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 310
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 27 post(s)
Morning,

Struggling to get a drawing exported in a printable format here. I've tried CGM, as we used this years ago, as our customer didn't like how NX printed PDFs so we had to export to CGM first, then pdf from there. The exported CGM is attached, leaves a lot to be desired! Any other suggestions would be great. I basically need a PDF that is crisp and clear.

I've tried a number of settings, one throws my dimensions everywhere, others don't fit the page properly, others when you zoom in looks like road kill, could really use some help if possible please?

Thanks
File Attachment(s):
fab.zip (6kb) downloaded 5 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ViaCAD Pro 10 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
GARLIC  
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 3:32:54 AM(UTC)
GARLIC

Rank: Guest

Joined: 5/8/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43

Thanks: 92 times
Was thanked: 12 time(s) in 10 post(s)
Originally Posted by: UGMENTALCASE Go to Quoted Post
Morning,

Struggling to get a drawing exported in a printable format here. I've tried CGM, as we used this years ago, as our customer didn't like how NX printed PDFs so we had to export to CGM first, then pdf from there. The exported CGM is attached, leaves a lot to be desired! Any other suggestions would be great. I basically need a PDF that is crisp and clear.

I've tried a number of settings, one throws my dimensions everywhere, others don't fit the page properly, others when you zoom in looks like road kill, could really use some help if possible please?

Thanks



Have you tried Adobe Illustrator ? You can edit line thickness + font size etc and the exported pdf (save as pdf)is really crisp, have a try....

just my 2cts
regards
G.

Edited by user Thursday, January 25, 2018 3:34:18 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

UGMENTALCASE  
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 3:48:35 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 310
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 27 post(s)
Hi, I don't have a way to open .ai files. I tried all the changing .ai to .pdf and various other things and it's not great. I can use my other converter to change ai to pdf, but it's throwing my text out on the drawing.

Cheers
ViaCAD Pro 10 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
GARLIC  
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 5:13:56 AM(UTC)
GARLIC

Rank: Guest

Joined: 5/8/2015(UTC)
Posts: 43

Thanks: 92 times
Was thanked: 12 time(s) in 10 post(s)
So sorry, I was not very clear about the import issue:
I opended/imported your file : fab.cgm with Illustrator and saved this imported files as pdf.

regards
G.
UGMENTALCASE  
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 5:37:46 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 310
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 27 post(s)
Ah ok got you. I opened the CGM file in Larson which I've used for years and this is the result....
UGMENTALCASE attached the following image(s):
Untitled.jpg (161kb) downloaded 2 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ViaCAD Pro 10 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
jdi000  
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 5:49:47 AM(UTC)
jdi000

Rank: Administration

Joined: 7/29/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,728
United States

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 67 time(s) in 65 post(s)
Can you just print to PDF directly? This is one of cleanest way to get a drawing

Regards
Jason
Windows 10, Win 7
UGMENTALCASE  
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 6:16:03 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 310
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 27 post(s)
Printing direct to pdf I lose my 'alt codes' on the drawing which I've used for text
UGMENTALCASE attached the following image(s):
Untitled.jpg (16kb) downloaded 0 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ViaCAD Pro 10 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
UGMENTALCASE  
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 6:27:53 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 310
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 27 post(s)
the other thing I've noticed is, that drawing is A0 size. If I print to pdf, and select A0 size, the A0 ends up like this?
UGMENTALCASE attached the following image(s):
Untitled.jpg (140kb) downloaded 5 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ViaCAD Pro 10 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
jdi000  
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 6:28:53 AM(UTC)
jdi000

Rank: Administration

Joined: 7/29/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,728
United States

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 67 time(s) in 65 post(s)
Originally Posted by: UGMENTALCASE Go to Quoted Post
Printing direct to pdf I lose my 'alt codes' on the drawing which I've used for text


Which printer driver are you using? Does it have the option to change how fonts are handled?

Regards

Jason.
Windows 10, Win 7
jdi000  
#10 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 6:35:19 AM(UTC)
jdi000

Rank: Administration

Joined: 7/29/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,728
United States

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 67 time(s) in 65 post(s)
Originally Posted by: UGMENTALCASE Go to Quoted Post
the other thing I've noticed is, that drawing is A0 size. If I print to pdf, and select A0 size, the A0 ends up like this?


Go into file -> page layout and fit the drawing or selected to page size?

Regards

Jason
Windows 10, Win 7
UGMENTALCASE  
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 6:44:35 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 310
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 27 post(s)
Ah got that now, fit to page threw my text everywhere, so I've had to go into the advanced bit and change a load of stuff :-)
ViaCAD Pro 10 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
jdi000  
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 6:56:30 AM(UTC)
jdi000

Rank: Administration

Joined: 7/29/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,728
United States

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 67 time(s) in 65 post(s)
Is the text outside draw views ? Maybe you can post a sample file so I can try to print to PDF. I tried arial alt codes and cute PDF printed them ok.


Regards

Jason
Windows 10, Win 7
UGMENTALCASE  
#13 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 8:43:41 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 310
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 27 post(s)
Who would've known a free pdf printer would save the day! Abbey Fine Reader I was using and it was messing it up!
ViaCAD Pro 10 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
jdi000  
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 8:56:53 AM(UTC)
jdi000

Rank: Administration

Joined: 7/29/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,728
United States

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 67 time(s) in 65 post(s)
Originally Posted by: UGMENTALCASE Go to Quoted Post
Who would've known a free pdf printer would save the day! Abbey Fine Reader I was using and it was messing it up!


Yeah,pdf is a common format but there are many differences in the generation of pdf files by the different programs on mac and pc.

Regards

Jason
Windows 10, Win 7
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.