logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

6 Pages<1234>»
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
thefro  
#21 Posted : Wednesday, January 17, 2018 3:48:42 AM(UTC)
thefro

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/28/2014(UTC)
Posts: 60
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
amazing keep up the good work.

only wish I was as good as you

Brian

Edited by user Wednesday, January 17, 2018 3:50:04 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

NeuTechFLA  
#22 Posted : Wednesday, January 17, 2018 1:56:35 PM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 263

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 12 post(s)
WHY CAN'T A SURFACE SPLIT BE DELETED?

Apologies, is it possible to delete a surface split giving back the surface it once was just three mouse-clicks ago?
Jolyon  
#23 Posted : Wednesday, January 17, 2018 3:21:50 PM(UTC)
Jolyon

Rank: Guest

Joined: 9/27/2017(UTC)
Posts: 231

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 22 time(s) in 19 post(s)
Just use the untrim tool ... or do I misunderstand ?
Jolyon  
#24 Posted : Wednesday, January 17, 2018 3:24:05 PM(UTC)
Jolyon

Rank: Guest

Joined: 9/27/2017(UTC)
Posts: 231

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 22 time(s) in 19 post(s)
no that doesn't seem to work : (
UGMENTALCASE  
#25 Posted : Wednesday, January 17, 2018 5:59:21 PM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 628
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 64 time(s) in 54 post(s)
Have you tried a right click in the tree (concept explorer) and select remove feature? (Think its 'entities' that shows you the list of what youve done) Works well depending on what comes after the thing you're trying to remove :-)
ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
MaiFy  
#26 Posted : Wednesday, January 17, 2018 6:52:06 PM(UTC)
MaiFy

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/3/2014(UTC)
Posts: 92
Australia

Thanks: 16 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Hi N.T FLA
Like others here I am totally loving your project.

This is the only cad program I have used and as such, having no other reference point am quite happy with it. (So that's an almost irrelevant endorsement). :-)
However, with your project, although I don't have the technical expertise to tackle a project like you are doing, as a fellow user I am very interested to see how far you can take it.


keep up the good work.

UGMENTALCASE  
#27 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 1:27:54 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 628
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 64 time(s) in 54 post(s)
Just checked there is no remove feature for surface, but the untrim seems to work though?
ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
NeuTechFLA  
#28 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 5:55:16 AM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 263

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 12 post(s)
Day...6,7?

I went back about 40 versions (saves) and started the rebuild of the area in front of the wheel. I could not find the magic to modify all the children of my main body surfaces at once. I choked Mr. ACIS and he said...Sorry Charlie...we're doing it again. I know it can be done in the software, I just did not have enough experience with Shark to set it up correctly in the beginning. I have been impressed with the ability to grab parent features with the Gripper and update the model. The SHIFT key has become my new best friend.

Observations:

For all my Noob complaining, Shark is pretty damn cool so far and I am learning a ton of stuff in the short time I have started my climb. Although, there are a few shortcomings I see headed my way on this one. But with all code....one gets accustomed to getting by with the tools we have.

Anyway, off to my day job.

P.S. forgive the spelling errors...not enough caffeine yet!

Edited by user Thursday, January 18, 2018 5:58:01 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

NeuTechFLA attached the following image(s):
011818-a.jpg (185kb) downloaded 8 time(s).
011818-b.jpg (170kb) downloaded 9 time(s).
011818-c.jpg (198kb) downloaded 10 time(s).
011818-d.jpg (195kb) downloaded 11 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
NeuTechFLA  
#29 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 7:27:25 AM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 263

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 12 post(s)
Originally Posted by: UGMENTALCASE Go to Quoted Post
Have you tried a right click in the tree (concept explorer) and select remove feature? (Think its 'entities' that shows you the list of what youve done) Works well depending on what comes after the thing you're trying to remove :-)


UG (do you mind if I abbreviate?)...I can in some situations RMB-Remove Feature. But in others, when it really counts...I cannot. Frustrating!

Edited by user Thursday, January 18, 2018 7:27:56 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

NeuTechFLA  
#30 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 8:15:55 AM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 263

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 12 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MaiFy Go to Quoted Post
Hi N.T FLA
Like others here I am totally loving your project.

This is the only cad program I have used and as such, having no other reference point am quite happy with it. (So that's an almost irrelevant endorsement). :-)
However, with your project, although I don't have the technical expertise to tackle a project like you are doing, as a fellow user I am very interested to see how far you can take it.


keep up the good work.



All the way to end! Even if it kills me. :o)

Thanks for the note.
digitalphaser  
#31 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 10:06:17 AM(UTC)
digitalphaser

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 4/17/2015(UTC)
Posts: 230
Man
Germany
Location: Berlin

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 43 time(s) in 35 post(s)
I also have a powerful workstation. But after a certain number of operations, the Shark crashes too. Especially quickly this happens when working with a SD mesh.
Perhaps File--->Compact... can help. Honestly I never used this option.



UGMENTALCASE  
#32 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 10:59:26 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 628
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 64 time(s) in 54 post(s)
Hi,

Yes I see it's not available in this situation either! :-) I tried the untrim, but I only tried it on a basic aircraft skin, not a huge form or anything. So not sure if it'll give you back the proper surface, with history, or whether it'll give you a dumb surface.

If you get a dumb surface, then you're knackered! I'll knock up a quick surface tomorrow and have a play
ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
NeuTechFLA  
#33 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 12:08:26 PM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 263

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 12 post(s)
Originally Posted by: UGMENTALCASE Go to Quoted Post
Hi,

Yes I see it's not available in this situation either! :-) I tried the untrim, but I only tried it on a basic aircraft skin, not a huge form or anything. So not sure if it'll give you back the proper surface, with history, or whether it'll give you a dumb surface.

If you get a dumb surface, then you're knackered! I'll knock up a quick surface tomorrow and have a play


Then call me Knackered-Boy because that is what typically happens. Dumb-Dumb-Surfaces without history.
Jolyon  
#34 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 12:30:42 PM(UTC)
Jolyon

Rank: Guest

Joined: 9/27/2017(UTC)
Posts: 231

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 22 time(s) in 19 post(s)
I've found when iterating surfaces - that dumping the surfaces and just rebuilding leads me to least trouble

I know that's not the way it's supposed to work - but it keeps things simple (as long as I remove links every time b4 I reconstruct)

[However - if you do NOT remove links, you end up with ghost surfaces - surfaces that show up in the feature tree that do NOT exist in the drawing window. This can make the model very heavy very quickly - so watch out ! Clearly a bug - and I've bitched about it for years - to dead ears]
Jolyon attached the following image(s):
iffyy.jpg (45kb) downloaded 12 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
thanks 1 user thanked Jolyon for this useful post.
daderaide on 1/31/2018(UTC)
NeuTechFLA  
#35 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 6:44:29 PM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 263

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 12 post(s)
End of the day fun. Rebuilt the area in front of the wheel. It's nowhere near the real car. I just don't have the Shark skill to do it yet. Next one I will. I'm having to go back to really Old School methods to get results. I guess I am spoiled with the latest codes that have all the bells and whistles for parametric surface generation/continuity/etc... But I have to say...it's been fun so far.

Thanks to everyone lending input on some of my gripes. The three issues so far are Surface Trim feature removal, meaning...I want to delete the "whatever" I did to the surface and the delete results in the surface that was present before the "whatever". It's not a simple Undo. The Untrim does not seem to really work. Two...edge matching of lofts, Nets, Covers, etc... Three, spline control is really rudimentary. I want to be able to specify a G2 condition between two splines with G4 control. That would make the Shark bites less painful.

Cheers everyone.
NeuTechFLA attached the following image(s):
011818-g.jpg (176kb) downloaded 4 time(s).
011818-h.jpg (174kb) downloaded 4 time(s).
011818-j.jpg (206kb) downloaded 9 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
UGMENTALCASE  
#36 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 4:46:24 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 628
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 64 time(s) in 54 post(s)
Knackered Boy, You're knackered! I tried one out this morning. Same aircraft skin, chopped a hole in it, the went un trim, it filled the hole and went to dumb surface and lost all past history, like the spline I put on the surface.

The only way I found to work around this is, take your surface, say you split a hole in it. Put that hole surface on a layer and hide it. You carry on working, blah blah blah, oh hang on I need that hole filling in again. Show the surface you earlier put into hide, bring it back with 'show' and use the 'Add Surface' command. This will sew it back up and keep all your history. Long winded? Yes. Safe? Probably :-)

Any other commands seem to build a dumb surface and there's no way back, or they fill the surface but leave the outlines of where things were, 'Add Surface' does not.

Hope this helps

Cheers
ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
thanks 1 user thanked UGMENTALCASE for this useful post.
GARLIC on 1/19/2018(UTC)
NeuTechFLA  
#37 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 6:05:21 AM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 263

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 12 post(s)
Originally Posted by: UGMENTALCASE Go to Quoted Post
Knackered Boy, You're knackered!

Cheers


Call me KB! Thanks for the info.
NeuTechFLA  
#38 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 2:13:30 PM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 263

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 12 post(s)
The wife wants to know why I am spending so much time in front of the screen! The Honey-Do list is growing and I think I need to get crackin this weekend! This may be the last for a few days.

Observations:

Lack of Surface Blending tools is starting to get in the way a bit. It might be my Noob status, but I do not see any GUI picks that indicate it's here.

Surface rounds (Blends) really should be available. Shark is damn powerful but is being held back by some surface fundamentals. I understand it's place in the CAD world. One cannot fault a software for what it may never had intended to be. Still diggin it though, despite the pitfalls and brick walls.

Cheers...
NeuTechFLA attached the following image(s):
011918-a.jpg (187kb) downloaded 6 time(s).
011918-b.jpg (170kb) downloaded 9 time(s).
011918-c.jpg (179kb) downloaded 6 time(s).
011918-d.jpg (192kb) downloaded 7 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
NeuTechFLA  
#39 Posted : Saturday, January 20, 2018 9:32:05 PM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Rank: Guest

Joined: 12/14/2017(UTC)
Posts: 263

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 12 post(s)
Ok, couldn't stay away from it today. I am trying all sorts of tricks to get the fender in place but I may have painted myself into a corner. My surfaces will not update to, what seem to be simple, curve changes. It tries...then reverts back to the original shapes.
File Attachment(s):
012018-a.jpg (561kb) downloaded 7 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
rokoko  
#40 Posted : Sunday, January 21, 2018 2:05:00 AM(UTC)
rokoko

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/28/2013(UTC)
Posts: 329

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 41 time(s) in 36 post(s)
have you checked these options:

- enable auto resolve in preferences. this will suspend associativity generally

- resolve links in menu -> edit. with auto resolve turned off, you can manually enable the regeneration

another setting you should try to avoid file problems:

- clear undo on save in preferences
rokoko attached the following image(s):
autoresolve.png (86kb) downloaded 2 time(s).
resolvelinks.png (98kb) downloaded 2 time(s).
clearundo.png (93kb) downloaded 3 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
viacad pro 10 powerpackpro, viacad pro 9 german, mac
Users browsing this topic
Guest
6 Pages<1234>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.