logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Trendstyle Design  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 06, 2017 7:15:51 PM(UTC)
Quote
Trendstyle Design

Rank: Junior Member

Joined: 3/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 15
Man
Australia

Thanks: 1 times
Does anyone use ViaCAD for Architecture ?
Tim Olson  
#2 Posted : Sunday, September 10, 2017 12:17:09 PM(UTC)
Quote
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,812
United States

Was thanked: 170 time(s) in 150 post(s)
User francois charron has posted some nice architectural images created with ViaCAD/Shark (but rendered with a 3rd party app).

http://forum.punchcad.com/default.aspx?g=posts&t=4556#post12151
Tim

Edited by user Sunday, September 10, 2017 12:19:41 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
amigadon  
#3 Posted : Sunday, September 10, 2017 5:04:14 PM(UTC)
Quote
amigadon

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/17/2016(UTC)
Posts: 2
Man
United States

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Trendstyle Design Go to Quoted Post
Does anyone use ViaCAD for Architecture ?[/quote I am a handy man and I have been trying to use it to design small projects but it seems to be real buggy! today i was designing a wall with a sliding glass door to fill in where a garage door was, having trouble with the measurements, if I add more than one vertical measurement the digits in the last measurement disappear. The only way you can print is to use a screen grabber or export the project as a picture file and then print that.It was a couple of months ago that I sent in that printing bug It was confirmed by a teck.I don't think the are working on the program much, I have ViaCAD pro.i HAVE BEEN USING THE 3/d and I was able to to build 2x4 objects and place them in the wall but if you move then around in the front view they some times move back on the the third axis.

I have Punch Architectural Series 19 but there is no way to manipulate individual studs and it's material list don't give you any of the hardware such as joist hangers, hurricane hangers plumbing etc.. I have upgraded ViaCAD three times and the last time I think I paid $249.00 I really thought I would get a program that was pretty much functional and useful, it is more like a shareware program that you make $10.00 or $20.00 donations for the next up grade. we should only have to pay for an upgrade if all of the existing functions are already working and the have added new functions and they should not add new functions unless the existing functions This may be my last upgrade
thanks 1 user thanked amigadon for this useful post.
Trendstyle Design on 10/2/2017(UTC)
Trendstyle Design  
#4 Posted : Monday, October 02, 2017 5:16:38 PM(UTC)
Quote
Trendstyle Design

Rank: Junior Member

Joined: 3/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 15
Man
Australia

Thanks: 1 times
Yeah I agree looks like it can do it but becomes buggy when you get to complicated items like a full house design and schematics etccc
zircon  
#5 Posted : Saturday, October 14, 2017 12:34:15 PM(UTC)
Quote
zircon

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/12/2014(UTC)
Posts: 43
Japan

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Trendstyle Design Go to Quoted Post
Does anyone use ViaCAD for Architecture ?


I do—but mainly for 2D drawings. In my environment rendering 3D models quickly becomes too slow as I add detail, so I only use them when I absolutely need to.
In any case 2D drawings are usually enough to get the work done.
MacBook Air (13-inch, Mid 2013)
1.7 GHz Intel Core i7
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
OSX 10.11.6(Japanese)
SharkCad Pro v10.0.0 (1335)
Quick Reply Show Quick Reply
Users browsing this topic
Guest (3)
New Topic Post Reply
Forum Jump  
You can post new topics in this forum.
You can reply to topics in this forum.
You can delete your posts in this forum.
You can edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You can vote in polls in this forum.