logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Holzwurm56  
#1 Posted : Monday, July 03, 2017 10:35:17 AM(UTC)
Quote
Holzwurm56

Rank: Guest

Joined: 6/27/2017(UTC)
Posts: 6

Hello,
i create a 3d part with Viacad 10 2d/3d. Now its not more possible to make boolean operations with the part. I can not marker it. Other operations move, mirror, rotating are possible. Is there a maximum of polygons for boolean operations?

Thanks

Hans
Tim Olson  
#2 Posted : Monday, July 03, 2017 11:04:34 AM(UTC)
Quote
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,790
United States

Was thanked: 167 time(s) in 147 post(s)
Hello Hans

Is your part a Mesh or Solid? A Solid has no limits to the number of faces that can be used in a boolean operation.

Tim
Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
Holzwurm56  
#3 Posted : Monday, July 03, 2017 12:54:14 PM(UTC)
Quote
Holzwurm56

Rank: Guest

Joined: 6/27/2017(UTC)
Posts: 6

Hello Tim,
many thanks for your answer. What is the diffrence between solid and meshes? If its meshes, can I convert to solid?

Hans
Tim Olson  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 11:17:23 AM(UTC)
Quote
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,790
United States

Was thanked: 167 time(s) in 147 post(s)
>>What is the diffrence between solid and meshes? If its meshes

Hello Hans

Meshes are collections of 3 or 4 sided facets created from facet tools or importing stl/obj files. Solids are defined by more complex equations (NURBS/Analytics) and used for modeling operations like blending and shelling.

A quick way to tell what you have is to open Concept Explorer : Entities Tab : All Objects : Selected Only (off). Meshes are usually displayed with a green icon while solids use a blue icon.


Tim

Edited by user Tuesday, July 04, 2017 1:21:06 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Tim Olson attached the following image(s):
mesh.png
Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
Holzwurm56  
#5 Posted : Saturday, July 15, 2017 12:20:14 PM(UTC)
Quote
Holzwurm56

Rank: Guest

Joined: 6/27/2017(UTC)
Posts: 6

Hello Tim,
there is a difference in the german version. It shows only the selected items. The item is named "Facettennetz".

Hans
rokoko  
#6 Posted : Saturday, July 15, 2017 1:23:36 PM(UTC)
Quote
rokoko

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/28/2013(UTC)
Posts: 295

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 28 time(s) in 26 post(s)
do a right click in a free space in concept explorer to select visible items
rokoko attached the following image(s):
conceptexplorer.png
viacad pro 10 powerpack, viacad pro 9 german, mac os 10.8, 10.9
Quick Reply Show Quick Reply
Users browsing this topic
Guest
New Topic Post Reply
Forum Jump  
You can post new topics in this forum.
You can reply to topics in this forum.
You can delete your posts in this forum.
You can edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You can vote in polls in this forum.