logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Tim Olson  
#1 Posted : Friday, June 30, 2017 9:21:22 AM(UTC)
Quote
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,747
United States

Was thanked: 160 time(s) in 141 post(s)
PowerPack Pro in 1344 now includes testing of a 3D thread feature.

http://www.csi-concepts.com/Demo/videos/thread.mp4

Please use the topic thread to provide feedback.

Thanks!

Tim
Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
24c  
#2 Posted : Friday, June 30, 2017 9:59:30 AM(UTC)
Quote
24c

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 106

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Hi Tim,

As somebody who has squealed for this some years ago, I was excited to see it making an appearance.

First impressions, when using a metric system, the pitch values don't seem to convert properly, as a M10x1 thread isn't looking like your examples in the video.
I drew a 10mm diameter rod, and applied the thread pitch value of 1 to the dialog box.

Obviously, your thread profile is in early stages, and is 60º based, but I assume maybe there will be a drop down for other thread standards at a later date, and likewise an internal thread function later too.

Thanks for this so far.
Mike
24c attached the following image(s):
Screen Shot 2017-06-30 at 16.50.47.png
24c  
#3 Posted : Friday, June 30, 2017 10:14:20 AM(UTC)
Quote
24c

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 106

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
OK, so I changed my preferences in the 1344 ViaCAD Beta to inches, and I drew the same model, a 10mm diameter cylinder, aka 0.393", with a 0.04 pitch and I get the same result.
Am I doing something wrong :?

Mike
24c attached the following image(s):
Screen Shot 2017-06-30 at 17.09.47.png
24c  
#4 Posted : Friday, June 30, 2017 10:43:46 AM(UTC)
Quote
24c

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 106

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
OK, getting somewhere, same drawing as before, but unchecked right hand helix...
so this is inch versions of the M10x1 equivalent thread

Mike
24c attached the following image(s):
Screen Shot 2017-06-30 at 17.41.37.png
24c  
#5 Posted : Friday, June 30, 2017 10:50:23 AM(UTC)
Quote
24c

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 106

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Hi Tim,

It appears to be an issue with the Helix direction checkbox, as I have just redrawn a 10mm rod using metric preferences, aka millimetres and the same behaviour with RH helix vs LH helix is cropping up.
Hope this helps
Mike
24c attached the following image(s):
Screen Shot 2017-06-30 at 17.47.53.png
Screen Shot 2017-06-30 at 17.48.09.png
Tim Olson  
#6 Posted : Friday, June 30, 2017 10:59:21 AM(UTC)
Quote
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,747
United States

Was thanked: 160 time(s) in 141 post(s)
Hi MIke

Correcting now....many thanks for the quick feedback!

>> and is 60º based,

Yes, will need to research other forms.

Also not sure what to do about tolerances.


Tim
Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
24c  
#7 Posted : Friday, June 30, 2017 1:22:20 PM(UTC)
Quote
24c

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 106

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
>> Correcting now..

Great stuff Tim,

>> Yes, will need to research other forms

I have a defect yellow engineering book full of them, but these images will help.
My thoughts are you could link these to a drop down in the thread dialog box, and maybe have a pictorial representation in an advanced tab, or in the Inspector, when you click on the thread part in Concept Explorer.
Possibly even have a "custom field", so you can create a bespoke thread.
Possibly have a default thread standard in "Preferences", but allow a custom change.

Mike
PS Re standards... I wouldn't get hung up on this yet, as just having a thread tool that catered for default standards like 6H in Metric ISO/DIN for example would be enough, and in most cases a tweak to the diameter of the "cylinder" would cover the standards range
File Attachment(s):
threads.gif (565kb) downloaded 2 time(s).
24c attached the following image(s):
profiles.gif
UnifiedDesignProfile.jpg
Tim Olson  
#8 Posted : Saturday, July 01, 2017 5:29:20 PM(UTC)
Quote
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,747
United States

Was thanked: 160 time(s) in 141 post(s)
Thanks Mike!

I uploaded new 1345 builds today with some thread corrections.

Tim
Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
24c  
#9 Posted : Sunday, July 02, 2017 3:09:03 AM(UTC)
Quote
24c

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 106

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Hi Tim,

Downloaded and tested 1345 ViaCAD Pro, so far so good.
I even "shelled" a cylinder, and applied an internal thread to it, and it worked great, as it recognised the cylindrical face OK. 8)

Mike
24c attached the following image(s):
VCP1345-test-thread.png
24c  
#10 Posted : Sunday, July 02, 2017 4:48:30 AM(UTC)
Quote
24c

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 106

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Hi again,

Yep, everything is working out OK so far, and it works well.
I found that it takes a little more time to process the hole punching, as the model is more complicated (larger?) with the thread detail, and even more so if you add a internal radius to the thread forms.
I was simulating a thread tool tip cutting profile on a lathed part.

Mike

ps It did fail a "torture test" on the LH fictional part, which I had applied a radius to the thread forms when I tried to flip the thread from RH to LH, but the unadulterated RH part worked fine, and the former rebuilt itself OK afterwards. :)

Edited by user Sunday, July 02, 2017 4:50:50 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
VCP1345-hole-in-thread.png (409kb) downloaded 2 time(s).
VCP-radii-RH-2-LH-fail.png (487kb) downloaded 2 time(s).
24c  
#11 Posted : Sunday, July 02, 2017 4:59:19 AM(UTC)
Quote
24c

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 106

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Hi yet again,

I was even able to import or drag a "castellated' nut from TracePartsOnline, and apply a screw thread to the STEP file, which is pretty damn smart and well speeds up my visualisations.
24c attached the following image(s):
VCP1345-step-nut-threaded.png
L. Banasky  
#12 Posted : Sunday, July 02, 2017 10:08:23 AM(UTC)
Quote
L. Banasky

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/16/2007(UTC)
Posts: 337

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 28 post(s)
Hi Mike,
I'm happy to see threaded options in Shark, thanks Tim.
Mike,if you need threaded parts in STEP format, McMaster has them for free.
https://www.mcmaster.com/#93760a337/=18bo4l3
Larry
L. Banasky attached the following image(s):
STEP Files.jpg
Metric STEP Nut.jpg
thanks 1 user thanked L. Banasky for this useful post.
24c on 7/2/2017(UTC)
thefro  
#13 Posted : Monday, July 03, 2017 2:20:01 AM(UTC)
Quote
thefro

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/28/2014(UTC)
Posts: 48
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Hi Tim

When selecting the thread if the Inspector is open it is not triggering displaying the pitch and length in Object Properties this happens using deep select (Select Deep) and not the select tool.

if I click pen properties or one of the other options then return to Object Properties the information is displayed please see screen shots.

Brian

Edited by user Monday, July 03, 2017 2:35:45 AM(UTC)  | Reason: spell

thefro attached the following image(s):
screenshot_95.png
screenshot_96.png
screenshot_97.png
24c  
#14 Posted : Monday, July 03, 2017 2:48:13 AM(UTC)
Quote
24c

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 106

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Hi Brian,

I am seeing the same using VCP1345 macOS Sierra aka 10.12.5, but only with the Deep Select tool, however it is selecting a face not a thread.
If I use Concept Explorer on the Part, and select the Thread_xxx operation, all is OK again.

Mike
PS You can see the Pitch & Length in the top menu input areas, just not in the inspector at that point.

Edited by user Monday, July 03, 2017 2:50:27 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

24c attached the following image(s):
VCP_thread-deep-select.jpg
thefro  
#15 Posted : Monday, July 03, 2017 11:17:27 AM(UTC)
Quote
thefro

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/28/2014(UTC)
Posts: 48
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Hi Mike

Yes it is behaving in the same way, just highlighting a minor bug that may be missed

Best Regards

Brian
24c  
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 5:40:50 PM(UTC)
Quote
24c

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 106

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Hi Tim,
Just thanks for doing this thread option, as it's mighty useful even as it is, especially for making a quick 3D model for my 3D printer.
By tweaking the diameters of the cylinders, and applying the thread operation to this, I can even allow for material shrinkage when the print cools.
I really don't miss the spiral path workaround I've been using all these years. :)
Pics are a quick and dirty test part, that took less than 5 minutes to draw and save as an STL for the printer.

Edited by user Tuesday, July 04, 2017 5:42:53 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

24c attached the following image(s):
robox-3D-part.png
IMG_4822.jpg
24c  
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 12, 2017 4:13:38 PM(UTC)
Quote
24c

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 106

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Hi Tim,

Just an unexpected behaviour, I drew a short rod, about 12mm long, then applied a 0.5mm thread pitch to it, which was a default 12.7mm long. I went back to the model, and using Concept Explorer, changed the extrusion length of the rod to say 30mm, and the thread disappeared from the displayed item.
Pics for reference

Mike
macOS 10.12.5 & ViaCAD 1347

Edited by user Wednesday, July 12, 2017 4:16:27 PM(UTC)  | Reason: version & OS

24c attached the following image(s):
Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 23.09.34.png
Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 23.09.49.png
Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 23.10.07.png
Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 23.10.16.png
24c  
#18 Posted : Saturday, July 15, 2017 12:02:57 AM(UTC)
Quote
24c

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/27/2015(UTC)
Posts: 106

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Hi again,

As I hadn't got a comment, I'd thought I'd try this again, and it worked OK this time, which is so weird.

Surprised, I did some digging, & I found out what was happening...if you apply a MOVE FACE, and alter the thread in Inspector or use UNDO the external threaded portion might disappear
Likewise, if you take the model, and change the extruded length, as in make longer, the threads disappear, and if you use UNDO the model reverts to its original length, but the threads still do not reappear.

Also if you apply, and internal thread to an external face, and then try and change it back to external, nothing happens, it stays as an internal thread. If you undo & re-apply or delete the feature from Concept Explorer & re-apply as an external thread that's fine.
There is no internal or external label for these thread forms in Inspector either, would it be useful , and could this be used to switch back

Hope this helps, and clarifies.
Mike

Edited by user Saturday, July 15, 2017 12:05:24 AM(UTC)  | Reason: grammar

File Attachment(s):
m10x1-int-ext-thread.vcp (2,775kb) downloaded 1 time(s).
Quick Reply Show Quick Reply
Users browsing this topic
Guest
New Topic Post Reply
Forum Jump  
You can post new topics in this forum.
You can reply to topics in this forum.
You can delete your posts in this forum.
You can edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You can vote in polls in this forum.