logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
MPSchmied  
#1 Posted : Sunday, April 09, 2017 9:12:27 AM(UTC)
Quote
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 85
Man
Germany

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
This is needed for bending a real planned developable surface of a simple box. At time is it needed to remove some parts of the developable surface before bending.

Edited by user Sunday, April 09, 2017 9:33:18 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user thanked MPSchmied for this useful post.
GARLIC on 4/9/2017(UTC)
Tim Olson  
#2 Posted : Monday, April 10, 2017 12:03:15 PM(UTC)
Quote
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,812
United States

Was thanked: 170 time(s) in 150 post(s)
>> not the whole solid along the axis

Is it possible you are using the Center Bend instead of Bend?

Tim
Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
MPSchmied  
#3 Posted : Monday, April 10, 2017 2:02:01 PM(UTC)
Quote
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 85
Man
Germany

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
No, i want that it bend not the whole solid along the bend-axis which you select with the 2 points. This is sometimes needed when creating real Models of a sheet-box.
Tim Olson  
#4 Posted : Monday, April 10, 2017 2:30:51 PM(UTC)
Quote
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,812
United States

Was thanked: 170 time(s) in 150 post(s)

I would probably need a specific example to see if ACIS can do it in your context. Attached is a bend between two points.

Tim
Tim Olson attached the following image(s):
bend.png
Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
MPSchmied  
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 12, 2017 10:10:21 AM(UTC)
Quote
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 85
Man
Germany

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Very nice, maybe i made something wrong and didn't find out, that it with the bend-tool works. But after testing the bend-tool i decided to use the center-bend always because the construction of the bend-axis was easyer for me with the center bend, and with the center-bend it works not.
MPSchmied  
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 12, 2017 11:24:17 AM(UTC)
Quote
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 85
Man
Germany

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
maybe i need more space and circles in the edges was not a good idea... :) When the space to small, it bends longer than the axis also with bend tool.


MPSchmied attached the following image(s):
Test.jpg
Tim Olson  
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 12, 2017 11:45:13 AM(UTC)
Quote
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,812
United States

Was thanked: 170 time(s) in 150 post(s)

Can you post your example?

Tim
Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
MPSchmied  
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 12, 2017 12:18:26 PM(UTC)
Quote
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 85
Man
Germany

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Tim Olson Go to Quoted Post

Can you post your example?

Tim

I will just make first a better developable surface, This one with the circles in the edges works not in both tools, its not needed to provide because it's wrong. It was my first. In this boxes are only one hole in the middle, therefore i was able to make this boxes with the extruding tool and the edges with adding other solids. Tomorrow i will provide a simple box.

Edited by user Wednesday, April 12, 2017 12:20:45 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

MPSchmied attached the following image(s):
Test.jpg
Tim Olson  
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 12, 2017 2:19:32 PM(UTC)
Quote
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,812
United States

Was thanked: 170 time(s) in 150 post(s)
Very nice! Are you calculating the location depth of the bend points using a k-factor ?

Tim

Edited by user Wednesday, April 12, 2017 2:20:11 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
MPSchmied  
#10 Posted : Monday, April 17, 2017 8:14:27 AM(UTC)
Quote
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 85
Man
Germany

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Tim Olson Go to Quoted Post
Very nice! Are you calculating the location depth of the bend points using a k-factor ?

Tim

No, i don't use a k-factor. I am developing sheets just for the 3D-Model, not for making a real cut. The real cut and bending make another factory. They have sheet-software and making a real developable surface by software from the 3d model which i give them. For my 3D-Model i don't need a bending radius, i have to give them just 3d models with hard edges and the bending radius will be made by software automatically. Therefore is the tool for removing the radius (remove face) very good for me. But something about the k-factor. If i need a bending Raw length i just can make a neutral line.

BTW The bending tool is not easy to handle. It's not easy to definite the bending direction and the the bending-side.


keep the good work

Edited by user Monday, April 17, 2017 8:28:22 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

MPSchmied  
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 26, 2017 9:50:42 AM(UTC)
Quote
MPSchmied

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/9/2017(UTC)
Posts: 85
Man
Germany

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
It works not when making a good edge for welding.

test it by yourself, i added a stp export.

My first idea - only to use the center bend was the best idea. the bending tool works really so like it want but not like i want.

But such boxes i creating now in full 3D and dont need the bending Tool anymore.

Edited by user Tuesday, May 16, 2017 9:24:09 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
Test.stp (2,925kb) downloaded 6 time(s).
MPSchmied attached the following image(s):
Test.jpg
Quick Reply Show Quick Reply
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
New Topic Post Reply
Forum Jump  
You can post new topics in this forum.
You can reply to topics in this forum.
You can delete your posts in this forum.
You can edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You can vote in polls in this forum.