logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
tomg  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 01, 2017 9:33:18 AM(UTC)
tomg

Rank: Guest

Joined: 2/27/2017(UTC)
Posts: 1

One of the most difficult concepts in transitioning to 3d CAD is using planes. I am an advanced 2D person and I'm having difficulty with attaching and manipulating working planes. I can't find a tutorial on the subject. Does anyone know of one?
As an example: I easily drew a curved 2d profile of a foot for some equipment, extruded the profile and shelled it. Worked great. I now need to set a working plane on the feet of this form and tilt it 5 degrees. I can't seem to figure out how to set that plane and tilt it. I sure could use a tutorial on planes. I've talked to others that have tried to move to 3D and this seems to be the biggest barrier (learning curve) issue they have too.
Tim Olson  
#2 Posted : Friday, March 03, 2017 3:10:42 PM(UTC)
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,837
United States

Was thanked: 170 time(s) in 150 post(s)
>> I can't seem to figure out how to set that plane and tilt it.

The WorkPlane menu has tools to set the orientation from picking three points or referencing objects. In the video below I use the WorkPlane : Select Object and construct some geometry on a tilted part face.

https://youtu.be/sSt6QvVgDW8

Tim

Edited by user Friday, March 03, 2017 3:26:18 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
thanks 2 users thanked Tim Olson for this useful post.
Andrew Gray on 3/3/2017(UTC), digitalphaser on 3/4/2017(UTC)
digitalphaser  
#3 Posted : Saturday, March 04, 2017 1:51:55 PM(UTC)
digitalphaser

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/17/2015(UTC)
Posts: 57
Man
Germany

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Thank you Tim for the excellent video. I do not even know about this feature. Very helpful.
horst.w  
#4 Posted : Saturday, March 04, 2017 2:04:52 PM(UTC)
horst.w

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 12/21/2014(UTC)
Posts: 124
Germany

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 7 post(s)
@ Tim Olson

Hi,

I reconstructed your advices by the video to create 3D-textes on a changed work plane as shown.

I was succeful to do it on the origine work plane of a new sheet, but not after arange the work plane to a surface of a model (3-points). The result is very strange.

I have attached a picture of the screen and the vcp-file.

Best regards
horst.w, GER

Edited by user Saturday, March 04, 2017 2:11:35 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
Workplane-Text-3D.vcp (96kb) downloaded 8 time(s).
horst.w attached the following image(s):
Cale-Text.jpg (74kb) downloaded 5 time(s).
Test Namen.jpg (40kb) downloaded 5 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ViaCAD 9 Pro german + ViaCAD 10 Pro & PowerPack
horst.w  
#5 Posted : Saturday, March 04, 2017 2:27:06 PM(UTC)
horst.w

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 12/21/2014(UTC)
Posts: 124
Germany

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 7 post(s)
here an other picture with the same origine work plane level as TEST Namen.

I wrote the text "TEST neu" and turned it around 2 axis so that it is laying diagonally and tilded to the work plane.
Then I extruded it as solid with the tool but only the inside-bloc of the "e" of the 2nd-last character was coming up instead of it becomes hollow.

H.

Edited by user Saturday, March 04, 2017 2:30:02 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

horst.w attached the following image(s):
Test turned 2time.jpg (60kb) downloaded 5 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ViaCAD 9 Pro german + ViaCAD 10 Pro & PowerPack
Tim Olson  
#6 Posted : Monday, March 06, 2017 4:28:10 PM(UTC)
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,837
United States

Was thanked: 170 time(s) in 150 post(s)
I tried your model with the latest SharkCAD beta and the text extruded correctly. What build of ViaCAD are you using?


Tim
Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
horst.w  
#7 Posted : Tuesday, March 07, 2017 6:27:23 AM(UTC)
horst.w

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 12/21/2014(UTC)
Posts: 124
Germany

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 7 post(s)
I use the latest (?) version of V 10 Pro 10.0.0 Build 1318
parallel installed V 9 german but not in use at the moment.


H.


PS Win 7 pro 64 bit, laptop Intel ??? 8 GB ram

Edited by user Tuesday, March 07, 2017 6:30:46 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

ViaCAD 9 Pro german + ViaCAD 10 Pro & PowerPack
horst.w  
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 5:46:52 AM(UTC)
horst.w

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 12/21/2014(UTC)
Posts: 124
Germany

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Hi Tim


I have an other phenomenon found out.

What I have done?
- Create a Cube
- Given to this cube a Constant Chamfer
- Change the Workplane to this chamfer by using 3-Pts option.

Result for textes:

In a first tray the text "TEST" occurs only on the level of the origine Work plane
Than I began a new sheet without 3-Pts to chamfer, also only lift the work plane by using the Offset-option, a little bit above the top of the cube.
When I type now the word "TEST" it comes out

- mirroring and
- standing on head

Please have a look to my picture - hardcopy.


Another question:
What is the option " "SET ORIGIN" doing?
I can't recognize any reaction! But I expect that the liftet work plane is going down to the origine level (like Offset minus ..) I'm wrong?

regards
horst.w, GER

Edited by user Wednesday, March 08, 2017 5:53:22 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

horst.w attached the following image(s):
StehtKopf.jpg (55kb) downloaded 5 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ViaCAD 9 Pro german + ViaCAD 10 Pro & PowerPack
horst.w  
#9 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 5:20:29 PM(UTC)
horst.w

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 12/21/2014(UTC)
Posts: 124
Germany

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 7 post(s)


Problem will be solved with build 1330, thanks to Tim Olson for sending the pre-version

H.
ViaCAD 9 Pro german + ViaCAD 10 Pro & PowerPack
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.