logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Bob La Londe  
#1 Posted : Friday, August 05, 2016 12:12:49 PM(UTC)
Quote
Bob La Londe

Rank: Member

Joined: 5/24/2010(UTC)
Posts: 34

I downloaded the PowerPack file yesterday and installed it on my computer. Its about 366KB, and all that seem to happen was that it installed a folder containing an .ini file in the Program Data folder. Nothing else seems to have changed. The ini file is 144KB. That seems about right when you compare file sizes and add the overhead for the .exe extractor.

Bob La Londe
CNC Molds N Stuff
www.CNCMOLDS.com
Tim Olson  
#2 Posted : Friday, August 05, 2016 12:56:29 PM(UTC)
Quote
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,680
United States

Was thanked: 157 time(s) in 138 post(s)

Hi Bob

The PowerPack installer just installs a license on your machine. When the app launches, it looks for the license file and turns on additional features.

Tim
Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
Bob La Londe  
#3 Posted : Friday, August 05, 2016 1:04:04 PM(UTC)
Quote
Bob La Londe

Rank: Member

Joined: 5/24/2010(UTC)
Posts: 34

Originally Posted by: Tim Olson Go to Quoted Post

Hi Bob

The PowerPack installer just installs a license on your machine. When the app launches, it looks for the license file and turns on additional features.

Tim


At the risk of sounding stupid... where do I find these new features? Nothing seems to have shown up in the menus on VC. My 32bit box is running the latest 32bit build according to the menu link.

P.S. yes I did move the Punch! folder up one level to the programdata folder.

Edited by user Friday, August 05, 2016 1:07:01 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Bob La Londe
CNC Molds N Stuff
www.CNCMOLDS.com
Kartoffel  
#4 Posted : Friday, August 05, 2016 1:16:36 PM(UTC)
Quote
Kartoffel

Rank: Guest

Joined: 7/6/2016(UTC)
Posts: 13
Germany

Thanks: 1 times
Hello Bob,

it adds "powerpack" in the menu-bar.
Perhaps a restart helps?

Regards
Markus
Bob La Londe  
#5 Posted : Friday, August 05, 2016 1:26:15 PM(UTC)
Quote
Bob La Londe

Rank: Member

Joined: 5/24/2010(UTC)
Posts: 34

Originally Posted by: Kartoffel Go to Quoted Post
Hello Bob,

it adds "powerpack" in the menu-bar.
Perhaps a restart helps?

Regards
Markus


Yep. A restart is what I expected, but its been restarted several times over last day or so. I also moved the Punch! folder per other conversations. Nothing appears.
Bob La Londe
CNC Molds N Stuff
www.CNCMOLDS.com
Tim Olson  
#6 Posted : Friday, August 05, 2016 1:33:51 PM(UTC)
Quote
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,680
United States

Was thanked: 157 time(s) in 138 post(s)
Attached image shows powerpack.
Tim
Tim Olson attached the following image(s):
powerpack.png
Tim Olson
ViaCAD/Shark Development Team
EvoSoft
Links to ViaCAD Resources
Bob La Londe  
#7 Posted : Friday, August 05, 2016 1:35:13 PM(UTC)
Quote
Bob La Londe

Rank: Member

Joined: 5/24/2010(UTC)
Posts: 34

Ok, figured it out. The location stated didn't work. I had to place the PowerPakc Folder in the Punch! folder inside the hidden application data folder under all users. Now the PowerPack Menu item appears.
Bob La Londe
CNC Molds N Stuff
www.CNCMOLDS.com
digital  
#8 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2016 11:18:00 AM(UTC)
Quote
digital

Rank: Guest

Joined: 10/24/2016(UTC)
Posts: 1

I can confirm the issue as well, thank you Bob La Londe

the full path where the .PowerPack10.ini is installed is:
C:\ProgramData\Application Data\Punch!\PowerPack
and it should be:
C:\ProgramData\Punch!\PowerPack

After doing this and restarting ViaCad Pro 10 the extra menu is there.
There is no option in the installer to change the path manually.

I'm using Windows 10
Quick Reply Show Quick Reply
Users browsing this topic
Guest (3)
New Topic Post Reply
Forum Jump  
You can post new topics in this forum.
You can reply to topics in this forum.
You can delete your posts in this forum.
You can edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You can vote in polls in this forum.