logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
gensmenger  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2015 7:27:32 AM(UTC)
gensmenger

In a class I'm attending, we had homework to design a simple 4 AA battery enclosure with a USB connector. I used ViaCAD Pro 9. However, when I export to STL, I get an error message "No Mesh Objects Displayed".

What does this mean? Does this mean I can not use the "regular" blue colored solid 3D object tools to create an object, but must rather use the green colored mesh tools?

Thanks. I'm totally new at 3D printing and exporting STL files from ViaCAD Pro 9.

Any direction to tutorials, or info in this forum, for doing this would be helpful.
rokoko  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2015 9:37:43 AM(UTC)
rokoko

Was thanked: 57 time(s) in 45 post(s)
hi,

here you can find a short tutorial how to create an stl file:

http://www.shapeways.com/tutorials/viacad

Edited by user Tuesday, June 23, 2015 9:38:20 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

viacad pro 10 powerpackpro, viacad pro 9 german, mac
thanks 1 user thanked rokoko for this useful post.
gensmenger on 6/24/2015(UTC)
Tim Olson  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2015 1:13:51 PM(UTC)
Tim Olson

United States

Was thanked: 498 time(s) in 352 post(s)
>> However, when I export to STL, I get an error message "No Mesh Objects Displayed".

I think some of the earlier ViaCAD versions did not recognize group solids exporting to STL. Is it possible your model is a group?

Tim
Tim Olson
IMSI Design/Encore
thanks 1 user thanked Tim Olson for this useful post.
gensmenger on 6/25/2015(UTC)
gensmenger  
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2015 8:15:57 AM(UTC)
gensmenger

Yes it was grouped.