logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Art Smith  
#1 Posted : Friday, January 16, 2015 1:21:30 PM(UTC)
Art Smith

Was thanked: 43 time(s) in 30 post(s)
just upgraded to FX v9 and would now like to tackle a classic "lofting" problem, ie: one with
known bulkheads at known locations. think of it as a balsa wood bulkheads for a fuselage or hull
problem; the entire range of projects is governed by the same incompressible flow equations.......
while not new to the game, I'm very new to the digital surface modeling game and would appreciate
any thoughts on how to proceed or references to "how to" examples.

Art
Tim Olson  
#2 Posted : Friday, January 16, 2015 2:15:24 PM(UTC)
Tim Olson

United States

Was thanked: 499 time(s) in 353 post(s)
Hi Art

Awesome! The first CAD system I did was for Lockheed's Advanced Design group (advanced F-16, F-22, F-35, NASP, etc).

For fuselage design, we would typically start by laying out three control splines.
--upper profile
--lower profile
--half breadth

We would then add in cross sections at key fuselage stations. To do this we would first add a plane at each station and intersect the plane with the three curves. These three points would then be used to create a conic for the upper fuselage and one for the lower fuselage. Once we had in our key sections, we would create a PolyConic surface. A PolyConic surfaces use the three control splines plus the conic sections to create a fuselage. If you're familiar with how the P-51 was designed, Lockheed used this approach for pretty much all their fuselage designs.