logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
SplinterC76  
#1 Posted : Friday, December 19, 2014 12:04:13 PM(UTC)
SplinterC76

Rank: Junior Member

Joined: 12/14/2014(UTC)
Posts: 2

Hi all,

I have decided to move away from Sketch Up due to a few features in ViaCAD, and I am happy with the move. I do miss one feature from Sketch Up and look forward to find out how to do this within ViaCAD.

With Sketch Up, it is possible to create a "component" and if you make a change to this component, any other instance (copies) of it will automatically change. Example, if I have 10 "L" bracket in my project and decide to put a notch on it, it would be nice to make the change on one of the instances and have all others updated automatically.

Can this be done? if so, what should I be looking for?

Thanks in advance.
rockyroad_us  
#2 Posted : Friday, December 19, 2014 2:25:52 PM(UTC)
rockyroad_us

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/12/2009(UTC)
Posts: 548
Man
United States
Location: In my place

Was thanked: 24 time(s) in 23 post(s)
Originally Posted by: SplinterC76 Go to Quoted Post


Can this be done? if so, what should I be looking for?

Thanks in advance.


There's a feature called duplicate as instance. If the parent changes so does the child. I normally do it with an additional copy but it will work for many more.
FX 9-1224 Pro10-1371
OSX.13.6
2x2.8GHz Quad Xeon
32GB
Radeon HD6870 2GB
Work
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.