logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
norbertsf  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2007 9:05:25 AM(UTC)
norbertsf

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 4/10/2007(UTC)
Posts: 116

Tim,

Can you give a lesson on the "bend" tool. I can't seem to control it's behavior (see the solid modeling thread)?

Thanks!
Norbert
Tim Olson  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2007 9:14:48 PM(UTC)
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 5,054
United States

Was thanked: 234 time(s) in 203 post(s)
>>Can you give a lesson on the "bend" tool.

Yes, will put one together.
Tim Olson
Vice President Software Development
IMSI Design/Encore
Art  
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 02, 2007 1:31:05 PM(UTC)
Art

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 3/15/2007(UTC)
Posts: 279

Could just have some definitions for the bend to curve?

Simply:

Bend Height axis =

Alignment Axis=



Art
Art  
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2008 9:44:28 AM(UTC)
Art

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 3/15/2007(UTC)
Posts: 279

Do we have any "bend" instructions, tips or definitions yet?

Art
jlm  
#5 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2008 7:08:35 AM(UTC)
jlm

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,106
Man
France
Location: Paris & Frankfurt

Thanks: 106 times
Was thanked: 77 time(s) in 51 post(s)
Art wrote:
Could just have some definitions for the bend to curve?
Bend Height axis =
Alignment Axis=
Art


Yes please !
nick  
#6 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2008 3:13:21 AM(UTC)
nick

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 245

Hello All

Knocked up a little movie which I hope will help with Curve Bend tool...

http://www.cadsoftsolutions.co.uk/movies/curve_bend.mov

All the best
Nick
Art  
#7 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2008 7:42:41 AM(UTC)
Art

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 3/15/2007(UTC)
Posts: 279

Nick,

Thank you so much for the movie. I really appreciate it. Now I understand why this is such a hard tool to use.

Bend height axis = Length bent?

Alignment axis= Resulting Vertical axis?

I am no human interface expert, but if the terms were a little more instructive like "Length Bent" or "Resulting Vertical Axis" , we would not be scratching our heads.

Again, thanks for clearing this up.

Does anybody else have better terms?

Thanks,

Art

MacIntel Shark FX
jol  
#8 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2008 12:59:28 PM(UTC)
jol

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/26/2007(UTC)
Posts: 2,156

I think we're all agreed - it's a truly lousy piece of interface design and not at all in the spirit of the rest of the program

I hope it's on the list for a good rethink !!

Nick's right though - if you persevere with it, you can get some great results
ttrw  
#9 Posted : Sunday, May 17, 2009 4:08:45 PM(UTC)
ttrw

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 4/1/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,583

Okay, I tried the steps Nick had suggested, but I keep on getting this error message; "Warping created a bad body:curve_1956"


:confused:

Will someone kindly explain where I am going wrong?

PS- Jol's right. This tool is nasty. Way too complicated. Can it be improved in any way? And can we have a flatten back out momentarily tool to go with it? ;)
ttrw attached the following image(s):
bad body bend error.jpg (23kb) downloaded 6 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Steve.M  
#10 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2009 3:46:19 AM(UTC)
Steve.M

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 6/18/2008(UTC)
Posts: 978

Hi Tom,

Can you post the model?

I do use the bend tool quite a lot, it was one of the reasons I upgraded to Pro.


- Steve
ttrw  
#11 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2009 4:11:16 AM(UTC)
ttrw

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 4/1/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,583

Sure, Steve. Here it is.

But I've worked out that I can't bend the solid because it was originally made using smart polygon mode (to draw a rectangle)

It was also made in Shark LT- can you open this?
File Attachment(s):
Frontal pulley holder 2.slt (46kb) downloaded 6 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Steve.M  
#12 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2009 4:26:36 AM(UTC)
Steve.M

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 6/18/2008(UTC)
Posts: 978

Hi Tom,

Looks OK here. Is this the changed model?


- Steve
Steve.M attached the following image(s):
2009-05-18_112218.jpg (56kb) downloaded 5 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ttrw  
#13 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2009 4:29:23 AM(UTC)
ttrw

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 4/1/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,583

No. I was trying to apply the bend to that profile (2 lines and a fillet).

Really the bend tool also does a good job, but it is difficult to know where to place an accurate bend point- especially if the point (line) has to have a definite distance from the origin.

any clues/ ideas?
Steve.M  
#14 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2009 4:48:52 AM(UTC)
Steve.M

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 6/18/2008(UTC)
Posts: 978

Hi Tom,

Originally Posted by: ttrw Go to Quoted Post
No. I was trying to apply the bend to that profile (2 lines and a fillet).


Join those lines first.

Originally Posted by: ttrw Go to Quoted Post
Really the bend tool also does a good job, but it is difficult to know where to place an accurate bend point- especially if the point (line) has to have a definite distance from the origin.
Caution is needed as the solid will stretch or shrink to bend profile length.

For the bend you are attempting, I would just use the standard bend tool, placing the bend location at the start of the rad.


- Steve
Steve.M  
#15 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2009 5:45:47 AM(UTC)
Steve.M

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 6/18/2008(UTC)
Posts: 978

Originally Posted by: Steve.M Go to Quoted Post
For the bend you are attempting, I would just use the standard bend tool, placing the bend location at the start of the rad.




Tom,

Quick example.

If it bends the wrong way, press ctrl,
Then enter the required rad.

- Steve
Steve.M attached the following image(s):
01.jpg (57kb) downloaded 5 time(s).
02.jpg (61kb) downloaded 5 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ttrw  
#16 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2009 6:30:36 AM(UTC)
ttrw

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 4/1/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,583

Originally Posted by: Steve.M Go to Quoted Post

If it bends the wrong way, press ctrl,


Steve,

I couldn't get pressing ctrl to work- but it may just be a Mac/ PC thing?

Anyway, I noticed that if I pulled a line off from the front of the model, using the Parallel Line tool, depending from which face vertex that line is taken from, the bend would go the appropriate way. For eg, a line taken off the top front vertex, caused the model to bend up, and vice versa. (Best viewed in wireframe mode too).

Top stuff Steve- thanks for your time! :D
ttrw  
#17 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2009 6:40:59 AM(UTC)
ttrw

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 4/1/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,583

er, just one last thimg, could this data be brought into a 2D drawing? Tim, Nick?? You wouldn't need a flattening tool- because the flattened data is already there! (See pic)

Tom
Steve.M  
#18 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2009 6:46:34 AM(UTC)
Steve.M

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 6/18/2008(UTC)
Posts: 978

Hi Tom,

Originally Posted by: ttrw Go to Quoted Post
I couldn't get pressing ctrl to work- but it may just be a Mac/ PC thing?


Could be. Does it show the option at the top of the screen?


- Steve
Steve.M attached the following image(s):
01.jpg (92kb) downloaded 5 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Steve.M  
#19 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2009 7:17:23 AM(UTC)
Steve.M

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 6/18/2008(UTC)
Posts: 978

Hi Tom,

For the bend to profile. It can be easier if you first draw lines for ref:-

For your example:-


- Steve
Steve.M attached the following image(s):
01.jpg (203kb) downloaded 5 time(s).
02.jpg (103kb) downloaded 5 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ttrw  
#20 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2009 7:34:49 AM(UTC)
ttrw

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 4/1/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,583

Originally Posted by: Steve.M Go to Quoted Post
Does it show the option at the top of the screen?


Heh- nope! :D

Tim, why's this?
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
2 Pages12>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.