logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Mogal  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2012 7:00:59 PM(UTC)
Quote
Mogal

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 1/12/2011(UTC)
Posts: 111

Is there a way to reset the gripper to an object?

Viacad 2d/3d v8 seems to loose track of an object every now and then.
When I select a object, Viacad thinks the object is somewhere else.
I have the gripper set to the center of the object, but the object is visually in one place, and the gripper thinks its somewhere else?!

Hope this makes sence.

Also is there a way to reset an angle back to a x/y/z plane?
Say you rotate an object 15 degrees, can you reset the orientaion
back to a specified plane?

Thanks!
Mogal  
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2012 8:08:28 AM(UTC)
Quote
Mogal

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 1/12/2011(UTC)
Posts: 111

I'd like to add that I have found the 'user positioned' option, but it does not set the gripper back to the center of the selected object.
The reset seems to do nothing?

I'll try to make a video of whats happening later...
Mogal  
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2012 2:08:37 PM(UTC)
Quote
Mogal

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 1/12/2011(UTC)
Posts: 111

[URL="http://youtu.be/15kTp9Kf-Bg"]Object Selection[/URL]

Here is a small video of whats heppening.
I have no idea how the object changed these settings, or change them back.

Also I have discovered that the origins are no longer accurite on some groups?!
Mogal  
#4 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2012 12:52:10 PM(UTC)
Quote
Mogal

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 1/12/2011(UTC)
Posts: 111

Okay, no matter what I do, I can not get the gripper to reset to the object!

Even when I 'user position' it, I save everything, but on a reaload, the gripper is back as it was before I adjusted it.

Does anyone know how to fix this?
What causes this?
And how to prevent it from happening?!

ANYONE?!
lgrijalva  
#5 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2012 1:27:34 PM(UTC)
Quote
lgrijalva

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 6/15/2007(UTC)
Posts: 392

can you place an image as a sample?

Some times i had to convert the solid into surface and stitch it again so the griper become aligned to the center of the object,
Luis G
Industrial Designer
MacOSX 10.10, Yosemite
Shark FX V8, Beta testing Shark FX V9-1146
www.miditec.com.mx
www.diferro.com
Mogal  
#6 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2012 5:55:11 PM(UTC)
Quote
Mogal

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 1/12/2011(UTC)
Posts: 111

Originally Posted by: lgrijalva Go to Quoted Post
can you place an image as a sample?

Some times i had to convert the solid into surface and stitch it again so the griper become aligned to the center of the object,


THANK YOU !!

that worked....
Any idea of what causes this?
So I can avoid it in the future?
rokoko  
#7 Posted : Sunday, May 15, 2016 12:03:19 PM(UTC)
Quote
rokoko

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/28/2013(UTC)
Posts: 290

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 26 time(s) in 24 post(s)
Originally Posted by: lgrijalva Go to Quoted Post
..Some times i had to convert the solid into surface and stitch it again so the griper become aligned to the center of the object
is that still the only way to reset the gripper? up to now i could not find a more handy method to get the gripper aligned permanently to the original axis of an object.

viacad pro 10 powerpack, viacad pro 9 german, mac os 10.8, 10.9
Claus  
#8 Posted : Sunday, May 15, 2016 11:01:30 PM(UTC)
Quote
Claus

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/19/2007(UTC)
Posts: 274

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 12 post(s)
I tried to bring this up years ago, inspired by Keyshot I would like a switch between local and global axis for each object. If an object is rotated it will keep it's handles rotated (=local) and the only way to reset the handles currently is to switch to user positioned gripper, reset the axis (=global), move the object and switch back again.

For each mode I would like the choice between axis at centre of object and user positioned.

Claus
thanks 1 user thanked Claus for this useful post.
GARLIC on 5/16/2016(UTC)
rokoko  
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 03, 2017 1:16:06 PM(UTC)
Quote
rokoko

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/28/2013(UTC)
Posts: 290

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 26 time(s) in 24 post(s)
i noticed a helpful command in shark: with

menu->file->reference->set attach point

you can attach a new gripper orientation to an object.


the command is in shark only, not in viacad.
viacad pro 10 powerpack, viacad pro 9 german, mac os 10.8, 10.9
thanks 1 user thanked rokoko for this useful post.
jlm on 5/4/2017(UTC)
Quick Reply Show Quick Reply
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
New Topic Post Reply
Forum Jump  
You can post new topics in this forum.
You can reply to topics in this forum.
You can delete your posts in this forum.
You can edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You can vote in polls in this forum.