logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
misterrogers  
#1 Posted : Saturday, October 3, 2009 10:31:34 AM(UTC)
misterrogers

This is probably a dumb question, but I am quite new to Shark:

I'm trying to figure out how to "sub-divide" any given face into any arbitrary number of faces.. Is this possible?
misterrogers  
#2 Posted : Sunday, October 4, 2009 7:36:41 PM(UTC)
misterrogers

In case anyone is confused with my question, I'm referring to the operation available in some other 3d apps like MAYA or 3D Studio known as "Sub-Divide" whereby a "mesh" is created upon any given face. Once created, the mesh becomes multiple new faces which are also editable. Hope this makes sense.
Tem  
#3 Posted : Sunday, October 4, 2009 11:41:25 PM(UTC)
Tem

Man
United States

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
I have not seen the functionality you are inquiring about in Shark. I have seen something similar to it in Cinema4D, and other mesh modelers. Different technology for a different purpose.

Actually, not in any CAD surface/solid modeler. I have seen a technology called t-splines, which has become a plugin for Rhino3D. T-Splines provides similar functionality to what you are asking for.

With Nurbs surface modeling one can increase the UVs of a surface, turn on control points for that surface, and then push and pull those points all over the place. Maybe this is close to what you are looking for?

Good Luck!
ttrw  
#4 Posted : Monday, October 5, 2009 4:28:48 AM(UTC)
ttrw

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Tem Go to Quoted Post
Different technology for a different purpose.

Yes, it's important not to get these confused! :)