logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
reinhardtjh  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2007 7:31:25 AM(UTC)
reinhardtjh

United States

Hi,

Although I had 3 years of drafting in high school (too many years ago to comfortably mention), I'm new to the CAD/CAM world. As a model railroading enthusiast, I'm attempting to convert a 3-view drawing of a diesel locomotive to a 3d solid model. I've got a scanned imaged of the drawing converted to various formats (BMP, PICT, JPG) and I've been trying to trace the imported image, but it's not going real well. So the question is, does anyone have any tips for doing something like this, or know of any web pages that have a tutorial or anyplace that has more hint on ways to try this?

Thanks for your help.

John H. Reinhardt

P.S.

If it makes any difference I'm using VIAcad 2d/3d on a MacPro and OS X 10.4
Art  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2007 7:47:38 AM(UTC)
Art

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
The files you have are made from dots, not lines. The best you could do is use them as a background in Illustrator, trace, and import that way. This is what I do for logos and such but not for models. I decided years ago that it was quicker and easier to reconstruct from dimensions. If you have dims on the model, go from scratch. If you don't, use illustrator to either import or determine dimensions and then start from scratch.

Sorry to tell you this, but I have found modeling to be much faster than noodling around with file formats and such. You could even copy the drawings on to graph paper. (how 20th century!)

Good Luck,

Art
dexter