logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
hman_mit  
#1 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 10:32:14 PM(UTC)
hman_mit

Hello, all -

I'm pretty new to Punch software. Been trying to garble my way through some designs, first with ViaCad, now with Shark.

I think my major problem is because of differences from the "heavy duty" CAD software I was using during my many years at HP - CoCreate's OneSpace Designer, aka SolidDesigner.

I'm used to drawing a profile on a workplane, then using it to extrude or turn a solid. All well and good. Shark works much the same way. The difference/problem comes when I want to define a new solid with a different 2D profile. I used to just be able to delete the old workplane and start a new one with new 2D geometry. Not so with Shark. It has just one workplane, which can be moved around as needed, but the 2D stuff stays with it. I keep having trouble with "too many lines/curves". It's pretty difficult to selectively choose exactly the elements I need for the new body.

My only solution thus far has been to delete all "used" lines/curves from the workplane before I start drawing new ones for another body. Of course, this gets me dire a warning about the body I've just created.

I must be missing something here. What's wrong with my approach? How do you keep down the "clutter" of used-but-no-longer-needed 2D features?

Thanks!

- John Herrmann
hman_mit
L. Banasky  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 30, 2010 4:18:43 AM(UTC)
L. Banasky

Was thanked: 143 time(s) in 101 post(s)
Hi John,