logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
leeA7  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2020 1:32:53 PM(UTC)
leeA7

Rank: Guest

Joined: 10/13/2020(UTC)
Posts: 6
United Kingdom
Location: Cornwall

Thanks: 1 times
I have been using FreeCAD for over a year. I also had the student version of Solidworks, but the license has expired and I don't want to renew. I am often amazed at what FreeCAD can do, and often dismayed by what it can't. (Fairly sure it's FreeCAD's fault and not mine). I am building a half scale working model of a 1930 Austin Seven engine. I design the parts in FreeCAD, 3D print them and then cast them in aluminium. In the meantime I was asked if I could produce an oval nameplate 75mm wide by 50mm tall with extruded lettering with draft. I couldn't do it in FreeCAD but I easily did it in Solidworks. The top lettering was shaped to the same curve as the top of the oval, the bottom lettering to the same curve as the bottom and the middle lettering was straight. I only want to buy the cheapest version of ViaCAD, about $199 at the time of posting. I think the pro version can do this, I had it on trial for a week, not long enough to see what it can do. I also need a cad programme that crashes a bit less often than dear ol' FreeCAD! Can the cheaper version of ViacAD produce such a nameplate? is there a way to rotate each letter around an axis?
Lee
lightbulbjim  
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2020 3:25:36 AM(UTC)
lightbulbjim

Rank: Guest

Joined: 2/26/2020(UTC)
Posts: 20

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
I made this as an experiment. I'm using Shark, but I only used very basic 2D tools so it should be possible in ViaCAD too. You should probably ask somebody who knows before spending your money though. It's pretty crude but you get the idea.

1. Create ellipse.

2. Create control point splines for the top and bottom text paths. I just tweaked it by eye but you could use constraints if you want to match the path of the ellipse perfectly (and make it parametric).

3. The top and bottom text rows use the "text along path" tool. It's associative so moving the splines around moves the text.

4. Middle row is just plain text.

Once you get to that point it should be trivial to extrude whichever bits you want.

Not sure if it's possible to taper the text or anything fancy like that. Worst case you could probably create an SVG of the lettering somewhere else and import it.

UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user thanked lightbulbjim for this useful post.
leeA7 on 10/15/2020(UTC)
jlm  
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2020 4:05:34 AM(UTC)
jlm

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,106
Man
France
Location: Paris & Frankfurt

Thanks: 108 times
Was thanked: 78 time(s) in 51 post(s)
Originally Posted by: leeA7 Go to Quoted Post

I was asked if I could produce an oval nameplate 75mm wide by 50mm tall with extruded lettering with draft. I couldn't do it in FreeCAD but I easily did it in Solidworks. The top lettering was shaped to the same curve as the top of the oval, the bottom lettering to the same curve as the bottom and the middle lettering was straight. I only want to buy the cheapest version of ViaCAD, about $199 at the time of posting. I think the pro version can do this,

is there a way to rotate each letter around an axis?
Lee


Hello,
I'm sorry I only use SharkCad but maybe the same can be done with Viacad because it is basic tools existing since many years :
Draw a curve parallel (offset) to the oval
Use text along curve.
Adjust the size of text. to match curve length
Extrude text with draft...
Some fonts works OK (when letters have a simple outline)
Complex letters (fancy fonts) sometimes need simplification letter by letter in order to accept draft...

Regards,

leeA7  
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2020 1:57:50 PM(UTC)
leeA7

Rank: Guest

Joined: 10/13/2020(UTC)
Posts: 6
United Kingdom
Location: Cornwall

Thanks: 1 times
Thanks Jim and jlm, but I think the 'budget' version of ViaCAD doesn't have a text to path feature.
Lee
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.