logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
magicart  
#1 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2020 11:56:40 PM(UTC)
magicart

Rank: Guest

Joined: 6/20/2015(UTC)
Posts: 172
Man
Poland

Thanks: 60 times
Was thanked: 48 time(s) in 29 post(s)
Hi All,
I'm a Win 10 and Mac user. I noticed Shark Pro works much better (with better performance) on windows. Have You any experience with Shark Pro on mac run with Parallels? Or is it better to have windows on mac natively (Bootcamp)?

Magicart
posh.de  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2020 6:52:41 AM(UTC)
posh.de

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/23/2007(UTC)
Posts: 445
Man
Germany

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 26 time(s) in 21 post(s)
Originally Posted by: magicart Go to Quoted Post
...with Shark Pro on mac run with Parallels?


depends on the maturity and stability of the OpenGL support of the used virtualization solution, if any.
POSH GmbH
www.posh.de
magicart  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2020 4:15:01 AM(UTC)
magicart

Rank: Guest

Joined: 6/20/2015(UTC)
Posts: 172
Man
Poland

Thanks: 60 times
Was thanked: 48 time(s) in 29 post(s)
Originally Posted by: posh.de Go to Quoted Post


depends on the maturity and stability of the OpenGL support of the used virtualization solution, if any.



I know it is a wide problem, almost phd subject, but what is Your experience? With Your machine?

Magicart

bbuxton  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2020 8:21:38 AM(UTC)
bbuxton

Rank: Member

Joined: 2/28/2007(UTC)
Posts: 34

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I'm running SharkCad Pro on a MacPro 5.1 running Windows 10 pro with Bootcamp on a separate drive.
Windows runs so well I rarely boot into Mac Os anymore. (There are additional reasons for this) Switching OS can break some software licenses that rely on machine IDs and there are normally issues with Nividia graphics drivers.
Junior member since Concepts Unlimited V1 pre-release
magicart  
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2020 3:25:12 AM(UTC)
magicart

Rank: Guest

Joined: 6/20/2015(UTC)
Posts: 172
Man
Poland

Thanks: 60 times
Was thanked: 48 time(s) in 29 post(s)
Hello Bbuxton,
many thanks for Your answer. I'm wondering how Shark is working on Parallels 16 (last release). BootCamp is last thing I'm taking into consideration because rest of licenses (Adobe) I have for Mac.

Magicart
posh.de  
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2020 5:48:39 AM(UTC)
posh.de

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/23/2007(UTC)
Posts: 445
Man
Germany

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 26 time(s) in 21 post(s)
if macOS 10.15+ you could give the new VMware Fusion 16 a try which is supporting OpenGL v4.1 and eGPUs (via Thunderbolt 3), the Player version is free for non-commercial use.
POSH GmbH
www.posh.de
bbuxton  
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2020 6:46:31 AM(UTC)
bbuxton

Rank: Member

Joined: 2/28/2007(UTC)
Posts: 34

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Originally Posted by: magicart Go to Quoted Post
Hello Bbuxton,
many thanks for Your answer. I'm wondering how Shark is working on Parallels 16 (last release). BootCamp is last thing I'm taking into consideration because rest of licenses (Adobe) I have for Mac.

Magicart


Yes that was hard for me too. In the end MacOs became unviable as it was impossible to maintain older licenses and still update the OS to support more active software products. After Mac Os broke Shake I switched to Windows which has given me better legacy application support and a much broader choice of CAD applications - but I am not very fond of Adobe CC subscriptions - everything has a price :(.
Junior member since Concepts Unlimited V1 pre-release
magicart  
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2020 12:15:25 AM(UTC)
magicart

Rank: Guest

Joined: 6/20/2015(UTC)
Posts: 172
Man
Poland

Thanks: 60 times
Was thanked: 48 time(s) in 29 post(s)
Hi All,
I've just already checked. I installed Parallels 16 (with metal support and pro version) and unfortunately Shark Pro v10 is extremely slow, Others softwares run quite good but performance of The Shark is below the expectations. I have 32 gb ram and i7 10th gen (16 GB ram and all six cores in use was set in parallels - CAD and games mode).

Best

Magicart
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.