logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Dharawahl Locoworks  
#1 Posted : Monday, May 31, 2010 6:48:00 AM(UTC)
Dharawahl Locoworks

Gday Everyone,

I'm just getting started with this thing called CAD and I'm not finding it easy. I keep running into terms that those with the correct training would understand and the sheer mass of features in the software. I expect that I will be asking a LOT of very basic questions about ViaCad 2D/3D that will seem absolutely elementary to all of you. The only boundless feature seems to be my ignorance.

My ultimate goal will be to 'build' a steam locomotive in the computer. I have set of plans but these are known to have a number of errors which would prevent a working model being built. They also have been done using a weird mixture of metric and non-standard imperial measurements. I propose to 'build' my loco using ViaCAD, at the same time metricate the measurements and correct the errors.

Right now I am trying to draw one of the simplest elements. This a circular plate 135mm in diameter with a 15mm flange bent over a 3mm radius, similar to a shallow pipe cap. This plate is penetrated by a holes in range of diameters placed according to a strict set of rules which define the spacing between centres of the holes. I can draw the basic circle, extrude it 15mm and 'shell' it with the 3mm thick walls required. I can even set it up with the 3mm radius internal curves. What I am having problems with is understanding how to precisely place the circles that will define the holes. The figures I enter in the Data Entry window do not seem to relate what actually appears on the screen.