logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
integr8d  
#1 Posted : Monday, May 7, 2012 9:27:02 PM(UTC)
integr8d

Hey guys. Hope all's well. I'm stoked about getting into VCP. So far, it's been decent. A few hiccups here and there. But it does what I 'think' I need it to do. Either way, this has been a good move. I looked at and trialed a lot of the alternatives and for the dosh, VCP is worth it. Shark may be in the future. But for now, it's basic shapes only.

Some questions...

I work in the film industry by trade. I have no experience in engineering or design. I don't have any proper schooling on either of the subjects.

Blasting through the manual, which seems to be an amalgamate of VCP and Shark (sometimes frustrating) there are three areas for drafting; 2D curves, surfaces and solids. I've used 2D curves and solids extensively. With surfaces, I've only set up planes for slicing solids. Is there any theory or workflow regarding this? Unless surfaces have been extruded into a solid, where do they fit into the world of drafting or object creation?

Inevitably, most assemblies require joining together of some fashion. Is there a repository of parts (bolts, nuts, washers; all standardized) that's available?

With the parts that I've experimented in creating, is there a chance of relevant data not being exported, when I go to the machinist? IOW, will he see the part and then say, "Sorry. I can't use this b/c certain dependencies were lost."? What trouble areas should I be on the lookout for?

Regards,

Michael
ttrw  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 8, 2012 4:04:12 AM(UTC)
ttrw

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Hi Interg8d. :)