logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
bmeissner  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2007 11:47:11 AM(UTC)
bmeissner

Hello Tim et al.,

this might be helpful in order to get some structured files out of VC (or CU):

Both FACT and VRML formats support grouping of objects, like a structured assembly in a CAD application. Would it be possible to export VC layers as groups? This way I could put objects that belong together on a layer, name this accordingly and get a nice hierarchical order of objects, sorted in layers and sublayers :-)

If there is already a feature to get named groups out of VC/CU, sorry, I'm a newbie and didn't find it yet ;-)

Bernd

Edit: The suggestion is valid for STEP as well, of course :-)
bmeissner  
#2 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2007 3:01:47 AM(UTC)
bmeissner

Hello Scott,

thanks for considering. Yes, FACT definitely does support nested groups. Currently I can export nested groups from (the old) EI Modeler, FormZ and PolyTrans... so there *is* a way to get this working :-)

Bernd
Arketype  
#3 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2007 10:43:18 AM(UTC)
Arketype

bmeissner wrote:
Hello Scott,

thanks for considering. Yes, FACT definitely does support nested groups. Currently I can export nested groups from (the old) EI Modeler, FormZ and PolyTrans... so there *is* a way to get this working :-)

Bernd

In fact (no pun intended!) formZ can form FACT groups by almost any criteria-
Object, Layer, Color, etc.

And it can even export hierarchical structures of "groups" of objects.

These are all very useful for an efficient export.

I would love to see these added to Concepts!
Juanxer