logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Jolyon  
#1 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 4:53:53 AM(UTC)
Jolyon

Was thanked: 22 time(s) in 19 post(s)
OK - It's dumb question of the week time !

(... I really feel I should know this - I've been using this CAD off and on since 2000 - and this is a fundamental)

In developing parts within the assembly of a product or vehicle say ...

Many parts do not lie in alignment with the XYZ axis's of the whole

So - to construct them (- or to adjust them) ... it's easier if I rotate it into alignment with the whole

Once worked on, I rotate them back into position

Clearly this works ... but it's not the right way to do it, is it ?

Can anybody help me to understand how to do this right ?

Perhaps with an example, video etc

Many Thanks,

Jol
Jolyon  
#2 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 7:10:41 AM(UTC)
Jolyon

In my understanding ... this is the concept of 'Local Axis' vs 'World Axis'

... anyone

... Bueller ?

murray  
#3 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 7:32:14 AM(UTC)
murray

Australia

Was thanked: 104 time(s) in 85 post(s)
Transformations are features too. There's nothing wrong or inferior or undesirable about what you describe, I use similar methodology. I always build in three points for location registration, nothing's simpler or more precise.
NeuTechFLA  
#4 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 9:41:07 AM(UTC)
NeuTechFLA

Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 12 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jolyon Go to Quoted Post
In my understanding ... this is the concept of 'Local Axis' vs 'World Axis'

... anyone

... Bueller ?

Jol,