logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
misterrogers  
#1 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 2:03:11 PM(UTC)
misterrogers

Is there a way to associate drilled holes with a panel of wood for example, so that if the dimensions of the wood change, the drilled holes adjust accordingly?

Basically I want to be able to change the dimensions of the wood panel as many times necessary and keep the relation of the holes to each other and to the panel. Seems like something you'd find in Inventor or SW. I'm no expert in Shark, so I'd like some advice at dealing with this. The Features menu helps a little but many times it says the geometry cannot be regenerated. This is very handy when developing multiple SKUs inspired directly from one product.

Hope this makes sense.
NickB  
#2 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 5:30:22 PM(UTC)
NickB

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Yes and no.

You can edit and change multiple holes simultaneously, but not have them change automatically when you change the dimension of another object. Having said that, it might be possible if you could get constraints to work (Shark FX only), but since constraints are so badly documented and there are no tutorials your chance of success is very low.